We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best lunch I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broodje Bert

Broodje Bert
Ranked #40 of 3,323 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Dutch, Cafe, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best lunch I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a remarkable place to get lunch. I've been here many times and like to take my friends here for the remarkable service and great value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    129
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Gorgeous freshly prepared food, friendly staff, value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Found the place by accident. Looked busy and nearly walked by as there were no spare seats. Then the door opened and a couple stepped out so we stepped in!

So good we eneded up eating here twice:
Day 1: The Broodje Bert Burger and goat's cheese / honey walnut, both come with a large plate full of mixed salad. 4 small homemade burgers - delicious. The goat's cheese - soft creamy cheese on a toasted ciabbata.

Day 2: Bacon sandwich and goat's cheese again.
Don't be fooled by the term 'bacon sandwich'. This was a massive dish of bread, bacon, cheese, salad and sauces. Never had a bacon sandwich as nice.

Coffee is freshly made - and is proper coffee!

Orange juice is freshly squeezed.

All freshly prepared in a tiny kitchen right in front of you.

The place seats about 12 people - but you never have to wait long.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tickingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value quick lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We visited for a late lunch so could get a table a bit more easier for a Saturday afternoon. We both got hot choices, the goats cheese and walnut sandwich was very good and very tasty and the salami and cheese was also very good. This is a great place for quality fresh food that is served quick. Would deffo go back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestoholiday12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greatest Breakfast in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Located just next to NH City Center hotel, this is one of the most delicious breakfast I ever had. Not a fancy restaurant, family run and capacity is relatively short, but if you get there - it worth every penny...!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shachar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Wow what a find reasonably priced and so much food we ate here twice they basically would make whatever you asked for!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicksyEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broodje Bert also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Broodje Bert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing