We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broodje Bert

Broodje Bert
Ranked #30 of 3,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Vegetarian Friendly, Dutch, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Essex England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Wow what a find reasonably priced and so much food we ate here twice they basically would make whatever you asked for!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicksyEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    136
    23
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had eggs and bacon for a late breakfast and it was awesome. The potion was very generous with 4 or 5 eggs and a load of bacon. There was also a salad and some bread to make if even more hearty. The service was nice, and it didn't take them much time to finish our food. The prices were very reasonable compared to other places in Amsterdam, but the quality was better than a lot. Broodje Bert is also located in a somehow quiet neighborhood so you can enjoy your meal in the morning with a peaceful setting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ordinary food and poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After reading many good reviews of this place, I was with two friends and told them we must try their food. We all ordered different sandwiches and thought it was rather poor in quality but good size. Poor service too. Amsterdam has so many great places to eat, and life is too short for a crap sandwich, that I would probably not go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hammer000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I eat here everyday that I'm in Amsterdam, and that is often.Fresh food at bargain prices. Great place to eat and people watch. Always top quality.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eurodollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“ok, but I don't understand the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My sandwiche was ok/good but far from great. Price wise its very reasonable for Amsterdam, value for money was excellent as the sandwich was a decent size. I went for a melted cheese, tomato and ham roll. The roll was less than oven fresh (but in fairness we did visit mid afternoon so maybe they were fresh that morning) the ham was the normal dutch processed ham, the salad was again only ok, the lettuce had started to brown on the edges so also showed signs of not being that fresh.
The sandwich certainly filled a hole and didn't break the bank, however it wasn't this wonderful experience that others seem to come across when visiting.
Would I visit again next time I'm in town? Yeah I might, however I'll make the trip in the morning in the hope I'll encounter some fresher produce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tajandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broodje Bert also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Broodje Bert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing