We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great, cheap meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broodje Bert

Broodje Bert
Ranked #32 of 3,376 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Dutch, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
new york, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great, cheap meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A small sandwich shop along Singel canal that serves up delicious food at really great prices. We stopped here on a whim to grab a quick breakfast and were really happy we did. The tiny shop even has room for a small bathroom tucked in the back. Just watch your step, it is placed at the top of very steep stairs into the basement.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    132
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

On a hot sunny day in Amsterdam, it was a joy to visit this little place.
Seating outside, our order was taken in lesd than five minutes.
Cold drinks was quickly served, and our food arrived within 10 minutes of ordering.
Fresh, tasty food and friendly staff made this visit a good one.
Prices are very frindly too.
Only one little minus for not taking international creditcards like Visa, Mastercard.
Warmly recommended ;-)

Helpful?
2 Thank Bafflar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
144 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place was great, the sandwich the best I've had. The staff lovely. The prices good and the location amazing too. Not a bad word to say.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aajsmh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best lunch in a'dam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Top quality ingredients make broodje bert the best "sandwich restaurant" in amsterdam.
Good prices. Central location. Nice Staff. My roast-beef sandwich was stellar!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Md
Level Contributor
304 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Best Sandwich in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were directed to this sandwich shop by our walking tour guide, and a gem of a recommendation it was! This is a very small shop with outdoor seating; great for passing time and watching the passers-by. We ordered a ham and cheese and tuna sandwich. First of all, this is no ordinary sandwich..did not seem to be able to stuff all of the goodies into the bread to be picked up..definitely a knife and fork affair! The amount of tuna was amazing, all fresh and flaky with accompanying fresh lettuce/veggies and a light delicious dressing. The ham and cheese was similar, both served on very good bread. We were both stuffed after our lunch. Two sandwiches and waters came to about 12 euro..find better food and at a better price; I think not! The waitress was kind enough to let me use the rest room, and I kid you not, it is the smallest bathroom I have ever seen, smaller than an airplane lavatory...just a quick aside there. Anyway, this is a terrifc, casual sandwich stop so do yourself a favor and stop into Broodje Bert.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Famontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broodje Bert also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Broodje Bert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing