We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Broodje Bert

Broodje Bert
Ranked #28 of 3,907 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Centrum
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I loved this little cafe. I wanted to find it whilst in Amsterdam because the reviews were so good - I was not disappointed!

I had an open sandwich with salami, melted cheese, tomato and onion. My partner had a roast beef sandwich - the beef was rare (not what we would have ordered for a cold sandwich) but it was absolutely delicious...so much so that I made her swap half of hers for half of mine!

Coffee was great too - unlike many places in Amsterdam the waiter knew exactly what I wanted when I asked for a black Americano coffee - delicious.

Place itself is very cosy no tables just a 'bar' around the windows so you eat facing out and enjoy the view!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeeJay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    166
    26
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Killer sandwiches, convenient location”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a quick lunch option near our rental and Broodje Bert was close and had excellent reviews so we gave it a shot - we were rewarded nicely. The sandwiches were awesome - my wife got the salami, cheese, and tomato and I got the burger. Both were excellent and filling at a great price. The service was friendly and efficient. We were in and out quickly, but it was definitely a place you could go with friends to linger over a nice lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I've never liked sandwiches this much!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

That was what my friend sitting next to me said halfway into her tuna sandwich. This place is just two minutes stroll from where we stayed, estherea hotel. It's not the kind of sandwiches you hold in your hands and munch. The portion is so huge you need fork and knife. The freshly squeezed orange juice went well with my Ham and tomato sandwich. I loved how the cheese is well toasted into the bread. Go early for the crowd starts coming at ten thirty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chewyjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast with canal views”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent value breakfast with big enough servings to keep you going til dinner. Try the eggs, ham and cheese breakfast. Wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank treble99united
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Conflicted!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Okay so it's a nice place and it's not too expensive and it's conveniently located. And I like how it sounds like it's a Dutch place when in reality it's actually a Turkish place. And I like how it's located on a corner so that you can sit outside and I'm a sunny day. And I like how it's run by a devout Muslim family who are still savvy enough to serve bacon sandwiches. So where's the conflict, you might ask? Well it's this: we ordered the Broodje Bert hamburger and it turned out to not be a hamburger at all. In reality, it was the well-known Turkish dish known as a kofte. In fact it was a pretty good kofte. It was served with a lovely salad. And a nice ciabatta bread. But it wasn't even close to being a hamburger. It was four small chopped lambs meat patties. Perhaps I'm being overly sensitive, but this strikes me as a little bit dishonest. Still it was pretty good, but I feel like I got my money's worth, and I'd probably go again. So all in what am I complaining about? The lentil soup we had was also terrific. And they gave us enough bread, which is really unusual in Holland. Alright, I'm shutting up now. It was pretty good. Go. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sircampalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broodje Bert also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Broodje Bert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing