We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)

Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)
Book In Advance
$36.54*
and up
Ranked #10 of 454 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went here before getting our train for the airport as so close to the station. Spent some time on the top floor with its wonderful view over the city. The restaurant was excellent. What a wonderful facility this is for Amsterdam citizens.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,595
    694
    119
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sulaymaniyah, Iraq
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Modern and very organized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Before going I was surprised all this positive comments on this place,
but after visited there i say they deserves all praise and its near from central station
Downstairs is dedicated to kids and organized so beautifully
And the restaurant on the last floor with a great view

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Araz-ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the effort for food, view and a little peace/rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We only managed to pop in for 30 mins whilst waiting for friends to arrive, but wished we'd come earlier for a meal.
The top floor cafe does have a great view and is large and was peaceful at the time of our visit. The cafe looked excellent, even though we didn't have time to eat - significant displays of fresh fruit and veg, great juices and sandwiches, etc. Clearly they are trying to offer something decent. Worth a visit if you need a break from the busy streets of tram and bikes - especially on a clear day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pethl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We made our way here after arriving in Amsterdam from the train station. Head to the top floor, great views of the city. Worth a visit and it's free!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unexpected location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The library is worth a visit. Walk the stairs or take the elevator and find the restaurant on the top floor. Fine view and reasonable food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guts43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing