We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unexpected location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)

Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)
Book In Advance
$36.56*
and up
Ranked #10 of 452 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unexpected location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The library is worth a visit. Walk the stairs or take the elevator and find the restaurant on the top floor. Fine view and reasonable food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guts43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,593
    693
    118
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Koper
Level Contributor
235 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Modern and still warm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I went here with my little daughter, so first we checked -1 etage with children's books and it is very nice decorated, with huge animals etc...There were many people sitting with children and grand children, reading them books.

On the first floor, close to the entrance, there is piano, so here and there someone sits and play.

We took elevator on the top - 6th floor and have a walk to another floor higher, where the restaurant is, but note that from 1st of November, the terracce is closed, sothe view you can have just from inside of the restaurant.

In ground floor, next to the entrance, there is nice and cheap self service restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 123321_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very good place to learn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I went to see the library. It's very large, it has 10 stages. There are many books. It's a lovely place to read a book quietly. There is a restaurant to eat when you get hungry.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lahcen161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a fantastic resource! While our city(Miami) is closing its libraries-amesterdam shows us this--a stunning facility that has all the resources and all the media one could hope for, a phenomenal restaurant, a bar and the best view of amsterdam from the port. Visit at night-or for dinner-and read a book or attend a program-its a 2 minute walk from the Central station and should not be missed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jnr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birds eye view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Helpful staff, beautiful views from each floor. Unfortunately we were here in a really bad storm and power went off so we left.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodipup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing