We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good place to learn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)

Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)
Book In Advance
$37*
and up
Ranked #10 of 453 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very good place to learn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I went to see the library. It's very large, it has 10 stages. There are many books. It's a lovely place to read a book quietly. There is a restaurant to eat when you get hungry.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lahcen161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,565
    679
    116
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a fantastic resource! While our city(Miami) is closing its libraries-amesterdam shows us this--a stunning facility that has all the resources and all the media one could hope for, a phenomenal restaurant, a bar and the best view of amsterdam from the port. Visit at night-or for dinner-and read a book or attend a program-its a 2 minute walk from the Central station and should not be missed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jnr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birds eye view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Helpful staff, beautiful views from each floor. Unfortunately we were here in a really bad storm and power went off so we left.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodipup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Library Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I went based on the reviews, and we thought it was great. Seven floors! There is a GREAT cafeteria/food court style restaurant on the top where they sold very healthy tasty dishes. Great view of Amsterdam from patio.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PortiaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing building but go the top floor to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

By chance after going to Nemo we went into the library. One of the recommendations is the view from the roof top. Nothing wildly exciting but we stumbled on a gem in terms of value in the restaurant on the top floor. Great choice, freshly cooked in front of you and good value. All the family had their choice of what to eat and were happy. Go there, its called La Place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pajtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing