We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great service not so!”
Review of Eetcafe Vlaming

Eetcafe Vlaming
Ranked #54 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $50
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
manchester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food great service not so!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Food fabulous couldn't fault it at all but the service wasn't great. Last time we came to Amsterdam we ate at the sister restaurant Eten & Drinken and it was excellent. The staff were really attentive and we didn't wait about for anything. Maybe its because we were there on a Saturday night but 2 courses took 2 and a half hours. Food still good though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indecisivetravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    349
    70
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Make a reservation”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is great, but most nights you will need a reservation, and you can see why.

The food menu choice is small but diverse and tasty, the wine list compliments the food.
I recommend the steak or tuna steak and share sides as they are big. The starter platter gives you a selection of all their starters, well worth it when you are struggling to make a decision on which starter to eat. And as for deserts well.... wow! We had 3 between us to share as we could not chose and we enjoyed all of them immensely.

I want to return to eat here tonight, it was so tasty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnamarieore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for dinner in Amsterdam”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner, the food is excellent, the steak was made as perfect as possible.
We mostly recommend on the toffee pie for dessert. The best dessert we had for a while.

Helpful?
Thank Guy79p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Ct
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful.”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

A charming basement restaurant with super friendly service and delicious food. We had an early reservation and over the hour or so we spent there we watched every table fill with happy diners.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal with top notch service”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful meal at Brasserie Vlaming. The service was fantastic and the food was delicious. We ordered homemade truffles for dessert, and apparently our server got a little busy and didn't put the order in for 5-7 minutes after we ordered. We hardly even noticed the delay and didn't mind one bit (since we were enjoying the warm and welcoming atmosphere), but when she brought them out she said that they made them extra big for us and offered some dessert wine on the house because we had to wait. It's little things like that that really make a restaurant stand out for me. Both the servers were so kind and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Branden R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eetcafe Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Eetcafe Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing