We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal”
Review of Eetcafe Vlaming

Eetcafe Vlaming
Ranked #55 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $50
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb meal”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Decided to try this after reading recommendations on Tripadvisor and we were very pleased we did - enjoyed a lovely meal in relaxed, canal-side brasserie. The food is beautifully cooked and presented - menu is not large, but great quality meat and fish. The service was friendly, despite all the staff being really busy as it was Saturday evening and they were full (would advise to book ahead). Overall a lovely, unpretentious place to enjoy a delicious meal when in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexNymphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    349
    70
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Visited this restaurant on Friday night and can not recommend this place enough. My partner and I were staying close by and decided to give this place a try after reading some great reviews on TripAdvisor. We arrived without making a reservation so were were disappointed to find the place fully booked. We were thrilled exceptionally friendly staff managed to find us a table as another couple were just finishing up. The interior is beautiful, very comfortable, cosy and romantic with a spotless open kitchen. All of the food on offer sounded delicious, we opted for the sharing platter to start which was served on three tier plates which looked fantastic and tasted wonderful. The main courses were beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. The chef here clearly cares about the food they are putting out. I highly recommend that anyone visiting samples the home made limoncello which was by far the best I have ever tasted. Our night was made by the wonderful waitresses who were fun, friendly and well informed, they could not do enough to ensure we had a perfect evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I had a great meal on 4th November, the staff were delightful and the food was excellent. We find a lot of Dutch food quite stodgy but this we delicious. It's not cheap but, we felt, worth the extra money. Well done!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambience”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Not knowing Amsterdam well, I was a little apprehensive as the taxi pulled up in a "quiet" street with not many other open shops nearby. However by the end of the night we were all very impressed with the selection and quality of our respective dishes. The tuna steak and beef steak went down a treat as did the redfish grill. Yum.

The service was excellent too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Musafir999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok but average”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to sit with good and friendly service.
The housewine was good, but my 'selection of the day' a rib-eye steak was not very tasteful and tender. My wive's cod was too rare.
The kides loved their chips and 'bitterballen'.
Mixed feelings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank deeBartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eetcafe Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Eetcafe Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing