We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful 40th wedding anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Vlaming

Restaurant Vlaming
Ranked #46 of 3,380 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $50
Cuisines: Dutch, European, International, Grill, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Small, cosy family-owned restaurant. Excellent quality - price relation. Nice selection of wines. Situated at the canal side, not far from the Anne Frank House
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful 40th wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We chose this restaurant after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. On arrival we were pleased to see that the restaurant was small and intimate. A lovely gentleman welcomed us and led us to our pre-booked table. The waitress who was absolutely charming gave us our menus and told us of the daily specials

The content of the menu is quite small, but we have found that the smaller the menu, the better the food. There was something we please everyone and I couldn't decide between the Angus Steak or the Tuna, eventually the Tuna won. I have never tasted Tuna like this before, it was cooked to perfection with a light salsa sauce, we both enjoyed it immensely.

On hearing that it was our 40th wedding anniversary we were given a complimentary glass of their home made Limoncello, it was delightful. As neither of us have big appetites we decided to share a dessert. When the Amaretto ice cream arrived, the numbers 40 had been piped in chocolate on a corner of the serving plate, this was such a thoughtful gesture it made me cry.

The cost of the meal, 2 mains, 1 dessert and a bottle of Cava was only 80 euros, excellent value for money.

We found the service to be first class, the food excellent and the restaurant small and cosy. We will definitely return. Very grateful thanks to all concerned for making our anniversary so special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MISTYunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    338
    69
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 Days in Amsterdam, 3 Nights in Vlaming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Top food! Top drinks! Top service! Top staff! Top Restaurant! Literally couldn't recommend a better place to eat, the staff are ultra friendly and take care of you, along with a bit of friendly banter! Food is second to none and the wine's the same. We ate here on our first night because we stumbled upon it and on our second we ate elsewhere but still found ourselves going to Vlaming for dessert an drinks, so thought why not go back for a third night! Couldn't recommend enough!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Stu C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“good pick close to Pulitzer Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found this restaurant based on tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. It is set in a ground floor/basement space which did not look very welcoming at first but inside was warm and nicely decorated. The food was excellent..every dish we ordered was well prepared, fresh with generous portions. The wine selections were also outstanding. There is also a sister restaurant with the same name a few blocks away were we went as well and actually liked it even more than the one on Prinsengracht. Our waiter (or was it the owner?) sat down at our table with us as he took our order. While I thought it was funny and friendly my husband was not as amused. Either way it is a great choice for dinner in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LMarieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
443 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Well run bistro on Prinsengracht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here on a one night stay in Amsterdam. We found it on the inetrenat and reserved. Good job we did because they were turning people away - always a good sign.

The food was truly excellent quality and there was a very reasonably priced wine list. The service was efficient and very friendly and the owner took time to write down instructions for us to get back to our hotel, which was outside the centre of the city.

I had the mushroom soup and the duck, both excellent and and the deserts were great too.

The décor is very attractive and the menu is basically French in spite of the name of the restaurant.

Very highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank What
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Extra special birthday dinner for our good friend. The food was fabulous. Nice selection of both main entrees and sides with an ample selection of paired wines. The service was friendly and helpful, including our stop for reservations. It's a beautiful area along the canal, and we're thrilled to have spent our evening here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnysideofthestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Vlaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing