We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Amsterdam”
Review of Eetcafe Vlaming - CLOSED

Eetcafe Vlaming
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $53
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Eetcafe Vlaming is closed but you can find us at Restaurant Vlaming
Geilenkirchen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice place in Amsterdam”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

During my visit in Amsterdam with my friends we have chosen Brasserie Vlaming based on the good reputation received on Tripadvisor. We have had a good service although the place was overcrowded. Food (two complete menues and different meat) ordered has been appreciated and in line with the price. Wine is overpriced for the quality offered. Good service and kindness of the owner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lena195otto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Owner at Eetcafe Vlaming, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear visitor from Geilenkirchen, thank you for taking time to write this kind comments.
I just want to react on your remark concerning the "overpriced" wines. I have to admit that I don't know how restaurant keepers in Munchen or Frankfurt calculate the prices for wines from France, Italy, South Africa etc. but differently from what most other Amsterdam owners do, we just add a fix amount of Euro's to the purchase price instead of multiplying with 3 or 4. That's why we can offer e.g. a Pouilly Fumé for € 28,25 per bottle, a Rioja for € 23,00 a Sancerre and Fleurie for € 34,00 Therefor in quite some other reviews guests underline our very good quality - price relation. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back some other time!!
Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    349
    70
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant, great value”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A great little restaurant with an interesting menu. Not a big set of choices, but as much as a small restaurant can do well. Similarly, the wine list is tiny (but the Sancerre is worth the extra money), but adequate. The appetizer assortment has virtually everything on the appetizer side of the menu (in smaller portions). Main dishes vary by the day; my tuna was first-rate. The friendly staff speak English very well.
Two tables outside look out over a canal; the tables inside are warmer in the slope seasons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelguy040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't think anymore - go here”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Outstanding. We visited on short notice on a Monday night. Service was very friendly and warm. The restaurant is very small, but cozy. The chef actually served us our main course and asked us for suggestions (like we could improve it - the lamb my wife had was superb, the veggie dish I had was imaginative and very good, and the suggested wine pairings worked very well for both). She then told us about the deserts and gave us her personal recommendation - never go against the chef's recommendation - it was outstanding. We ended up spending 3 hours and were surprised it was that long when we left - we had not looked at our watches and were thoroughly enjoying ourselves the entire time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 929MarkH929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great ambience, competent cooking”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had booked online. The décor is good and the staff very welcoming. There is limited outside seating but we went on a cool evening. The menu is quite short, but there were some specials on a wallboard. Starters were OK but not remarkable. For mains, my wife's Berkshire pork rib was pronounced excellent, and my prawns from the specials list were very good. This is certainly a cut above the more centrally located restaurants and worth a stroll to reach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_engineer_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“More than expected”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had apparently walked into the wrong Brasserie Vlaming on Prinsengracht but the mistake was soon resolved by the young lady who turned out to be the daughter of the owners and who could not have been more helpful.
The food was outstanding as was the service, lamb chops with potato salad which has to have been the best potato salad I have had,(and that includes my own home made)
My husband had tuna steak which at first was too underdone for him but that did not present a problem and it was perfect when it was returned to him.
Home made sticky toffee pudding was delicious and the home made limoncello is a must.
This place is definitely on the list when we return to Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hepburn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eetcafe Vlaming also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing