We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the better side of average”
Review of Ponte Arcari

Ponte Arcari
Ranked #830 of 3,907 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“On the better side of average”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We ate here last night and the place didn't exactly surprise us. We were already quite familiar with the restaurant/food level in Amsterdam overall (which isn't that good) and Ponte Arcari is quite good Italian restaurant in Amsterdam, but far from the best Italian restaurants we have visited elsewhere (including Italy). Place is really small and full of tables, but if it doesn't rain you can also sit on tables by the canal next to the restaurant. Service overall was very good (which is almost exceptional in Amsterdam) and waiters are chatting and joking a lot with customers, making the atmosphere relaxed and authentic.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    95
    24
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude staff and owner”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We decided to eat at this restaurant in early June due to the good reviews on tripadvisor. We were visiting Amsterdam on business and thoroughly enjoying the restaurants, sites, and people of Amsterdam.We called to inquire about reserving a table and told to just come over- no problem to get a table for three. We arrived within fifteen minutes and told to wait downstairs in their lower level or basement level having bread and drinks until our table was ready since every table was currently occupied. After about fifteen minutes we were brought back upstairs and had a lovely meal- 3 orders of ravioli and a lemon sorbet for desert.
A few days later we were in the same area and stopped by for another meal and told outright- no tables were available. We said we would wait but the waiter nastily told us that nothing was available.
We ate at dozens of restaurants and cafes during our extended visit to Amsterdam and this was the strangest and worst experience we encountered. We definitely would not recommend the restaurant as no one deserves to be treated poorly. The food we consumed the one time we ate there was good, but nothing special.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarvardMom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a very good meal at Ponte Arcari, but the interaction with the owner made the meal. He was kind and funny, taking extra care to chat with us and make us feel comfortable. I would not suggest the Risoto, but the fish of the day was very good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Like home away from home”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Ponte Arcari became our go-to restaurant on our recently completed trip to Amsterdam. It was on the same block as Hotel Seven Bridges where we were staying for a week.

As we discovered the place, we noticed people speaking Italian at one of the sidewalk tables, so I struck up a conversation, in Italian with them. It turns out I was talking with the owner who joked with us about great food and lousy service, making us feel at ease.

They gave us a nice two-top in the front window where we could enjoy the comings and goings in the neighborhood, along the canal with seven arch bridges. We thoroughly enjoyed the three meals we had there and were well taken care of by Salvatore and Ricardo, the two waiters who tended to our tables.

I was amazed that they could turn out such tasty, inventive and authentic Italian meals in their tiny galley kitchen. The salads were fresh replete with some of the sweetest tomatoes we've tasted. We enjoyed also the carpaccio and our main dishes. Going there three times we were able to sample many menu items. They do a very good job with their meat dishes and wine reductions. Their pastas are all flavorful and freshly made. Red sauces, gorgonzola sauces, mushroom based sauces were all excellent.

We have visited Italy several times and Ponte Arcari made us feel like we were there. Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laz1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Disappointed....”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We decided to go to this small Italian a little out of town after seeing how busy it was one night, read up some good reveiws and headed out for dinner. The place is small, very small, the till was right next to our table which they had to slam shut every time they used it (annoying) and the food didn't exactly come out very quickly or in the right order of when customers arrived. There was a couple that sat down 15 mins after we'd ordered and they received their dinner 10 mins before ours. The food was average, can and have made better pasta at home using jars of sauce. The service was a little slap dash which could have been overlooked if the food was as good as everyone raves on about. Our next visit to Dam will not include another visit to this place. Very poor.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponte Arcari also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ponte Arcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing