We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamonds are a girls best friend”

Gassan Diamonds Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.92*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #68 of 380 Tours in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Experience the brilliance of diamonds at Gassan Diamonds! The Amsterdam diamond company Gassan Diamonds is located in a former steam-driven diamond factory. A historic building, where you can watch our diamond cutters at work while a guide tells you all about diamond processing. Experience the thrill of the diamond polishing process at Gassan Diamonds. Admire the work of talented craftsmen as they turn rough diamonds into dazzling, exquisitely polished stones. Watch the process in all its facets. Experience the excitement of over 400 years of craftsmanship and tradition. And of course, we also sell the world-famous 'Amsterdam Cut'.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Diamonds are a girls best friend”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a lovely time here and where else would you get to try on thousands of pounds worth of jewellery. The tour guide was lovely and very entertaining. Need deep pockets !!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PerceyCruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    216
    164
    58
    48
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“The more diamonds the better”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Visiting Amsterdam over Easter with my wife. Bought a canal boat 24 hour ticket. Once my wife saw that we could have a free tour at the Gassan factory, there was no stopping her. The actual tour does not take long but, as mentioned by other contributors, they are keen to sell. My wife had been looking for a particular type of diamond ring for over a year. Luckily for her and not for me, she found what she was looking for. The guide is in fact a very good salesperson and is keen to find buyers, hence the free tour. I bought my wife her ring, a very happy lady, and as the ring had to be re-sized, we had 40 minutes to kill. We therefore went to see the guys finishing cutting the diamonds. They all spoke very good English. One of the guys was about to finish off a 0.45 carat diamond and was on his third day. The original diamond was just over 1 carat. Great way to kill an hour or so.

A warning, they have 2 shops at Schiphol Airport duty free. We had time to kill before our flight back home and browsed the diamonds. The sales assistant advised that if you bought diamonds from duty free, it was 21% cheaper than their non duty free shops notwithstanding that you are travelling within the EU. Worth noting ladies.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pkpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Not Very Interesting”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife loves diamonds! Well I suppose what woman doesn't. However, even she was underwhelmed by museum. Most of the exhibits on show are replicas and to be frank, it was boring.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larbert
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“It was free and we were on a tight schedule”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were looking for something to do whilst waiting on our transfer so we went down to Gassan Diamonds as the tour is free.

They spend a lot of time selling and not enough on the history of how diamonds came to Amsterdam and how they are cut. This part takes seconds whilst the rest of the tour is about selling.

It was free so the value for money is amazing and it was interesting although we had to leave early to get our transfer,

Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alfromlarbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sestri Levante, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“If you have half an hour spare, it is worth it”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The tour is simple and quick (around 20-30 minutes)...and quite commercially oriented.
After a quick explanation of how raw diamonds are cut to the final gems we are used to, they explain the 4 Cs (Color, Cut, Clarity, Carat) and show you samples of diamonds (with relevant price...just in case you want to buy them)...
If you have half an hour spare, it is worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gassan Diamonds Tour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gassan Diamonds Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing