We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting, but not worth the money?”

Diamant Museum Amsterdam
Book In Advance
More Info
$9.43*
and up
Skip-the-Line: Diamond Museum Amsterdam Admission Ticket
Ranked #126 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“interesting, but not worth the money?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was interesting,for the first 5 minutes and then went on to show pictures, replicas and movie clips slightly related to diamonds. Not worth the money and very disappointing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 42kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    147
    154
    70
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Judging from the other reviews I am not alone in finding this underwhelming - your entry ticket allows free entry to Costers next door where the most interesting thing is to see some diamond polishing on a wheel. The reproduction crowns were poor and tawdry so failed to give any impression of the majesty of the originals - a bit more money spent on these would have improved the experience, found the non precious ceremonial headgear more interesting than anything else in the museum. Unless you have an hour to kill and nothing to read - give it a miss. It sounds like the Gassan diamonds offering is a better experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

If you want to see poor paste replicas of diamonds, photos of celebs wearing diamonds, clips of old movies with diamond themes and then be herded into a gift shop then this is for you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank tyke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Interesting but not fabulous”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This small museum is dedicated to diamonds and the diamond trade; find out about the 4C's, and how they impact on the price of a diamond. On display are replicas of famous diamonds and jewels from around the world; some are very different. For me this was an opportunity to see replicas of an original of some of the state jewels from around the world. I was able to take my time and really check out what was in front of me without being hustled along. The display cabinets are modern, well lit and labelled in English. Photos are permitted without flash. I found the museum interesting. I used my Museumkaard (not sure if iAmsterdam Card has a reduced entry) for free entry. Adult ticket usually E10.00, not that cheap.
Clean toilets are available on site and the tram into the Dam passes along the street.
Next door is Coster Diamonds where you can watch diamond cutters, polishers and jewellers set diamonds, without doing a tour of the factory, which I didn’t do.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 35yrdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cup of free coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Went here as part of the Amsterdam Bus Tour. Was really great and the tour was very informative. You get a free cup if coffee at the end of the tour.

Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamant Museum Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Diamant Museum Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing