We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine hotel restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Palmboom

De Palmboom
Reserve with
De Palmboom is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #857 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fine hotel restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Very pleasant and bright space off hotel lobby with attentive staff and good food. They were having a "lobster festival" which was quite nice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bugdocsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    56
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A culinary triumph!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Eat here if you enjoy top quality food.

It was asparagus season during our visit so there was an additional 'asparagus menu' which we both chose the asparagus and smoked salmon from and enjoyed immensely. The smoked salmon was obviously excellent quality and not over chilled like at so many other restaurants - essential when pairing with a warm element i.e. the asparagus.

We chose the filet steak and the fish dish of the day for main course and were both town away by the flavours on our plates. I prefer a flaky fish so I chose the fish after learning it was whiting and wasn't disappointed. The dish was presented so delicately and the flavours of the vegetable and puree were astonishing. Similarly, the filet steak ordered by my partner was so well cooked, presented and accompanied by the most delicious gravy sauce (I was lucky to get a taste!).

Only I ordered a dessert which was unimpressively described as waffles and ice cream but it was so much more: leaf shaped, delicate waffles (think more shreddie sized waffle than Warburtons!) placed between vanilla whipped cream pellets, a strawberry and surrounding some delicious praline ice cream with a decadent dulce de leche sauce. Perfect note to end the meal on.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lfranchesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic good quality steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We ate at this restaurant twice during our stay in Amsterdam. The menu is quite limited with only a choice of five or six main courses but the food and service were excellent and the menu does seem to change. Highly recommend the steak, tasted great and was cooked to perfection. Waiting staff were very helpful in explaining the food choices and offered great service

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsGNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really bad taste”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

The chef here obviously knows nothing about flavours; nothing tastes like it should taste and instead it seems that clove is the only condiment that is used. Absolutely terrible!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisZegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice and elegant rest. But very poor menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Menu very poor and smoked salmon not good quality

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rb770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Palmboom also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Palmboom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing