We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Restaurant Seven Seas
Reserve with
Restaurant Seven Seas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,162 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $28 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Dining in the Scheepvaarthuis is a delight. Magnificent marble, warm wooden floors and stained-glass decorations create a lavish setting in our Seven Seas Restaurant in Amsterdam. Our staff ensures that everything runs smoothly, leaving you to enjoy your meal and your table companions to the full. Our menu is French in character, with a distinct maritime influence. Our enthusiastic chef and his kitchen team do all they can to please you. If you have any special (dietary) wishes that are not on the menu, please bring them to our attention. Our restaurant manager and his team will ensure you have everything you could possibly need. All of us are here to let you dine in style in 'a world of luxury and art'. For special occasions - business or personal - you can dine with us in private. We offer a number of special function rooms for such occasions and will help you choose the room and menu that best meet your wishes.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Since coming to this restaurant and having a bad experience, I contacted the hotel to explain what had happened. My email was completely ignored, they clearly care even less about service once you have left than when you're there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysonholiday24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    6
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply Supurb”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We decided to eat at the Seven Seas Restaurant as we were staying in the Grand Hotel and wanted a top quality dinner for our anniversary, It was such a fantastic evening. We visited while "Restaurant week" was on. From what I can gather it was a set menu for a fixed price. And something that happened across the Netherlands, or even Europe.

Granted, its not the busiest of places (there were only 2 other couples in the room), but at 27.50 euro a head for a 3 course meal (and usually much more) its not likely to be. We asked our waiter for a wine choice, and he gave us a selection that would accompany the meal. He wasn't out to sell us the most expensive, and actually recommended the cheaper of the bottles as his personal choice. The food was fantastic and worthy of the price tag. Beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. The service was attentive, but not overpowering. The atmosphere was relaxed and the surroundings befitting of a fine dining restaurant.

If I ever came back to Amsterdam, I would set aside some money for another meal here as it was just fantastic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mpeck24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good meal”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The restaurant was very busy when we went but the food was good quality and service was excellent.
Great cocktails

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TOMinRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We celebrate birthday having dinner at that restaurant/ the vegetarian course was mostly good. The main course was risotto which was too small and a little bit strange cooked. The steak was very good the service was awesome!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast and room service”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent breakfast! Loved the croissants, fruit, bacon, eggs, everything! Pizza and goat curry were tasty room service options!
Breakfast was 5 stars, room service I would give 4 stars, but the fact that it was 24/7 is a plus!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suebdoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Seven Seas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Seven Seas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing