We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Food and People Watching, So-So Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joselito

Joselito
Ranked #1,088 of 3,380 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food and People Watching, So-So Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Really good tapas. The beef empanada was superb. I went back a second time just to verify that it wasn't a fluke. The beef skewer and meatball were also very good. The service? Well I saw several tables get tired of waiting and leave. I waited patiently since I was people watching but even I almost left when I went the second time because the waiter scolded me for not knowing the numbers of the dishes and then left, making me wait another 15 minutes. Would have been nice if he had at least brought me my beer. But I hung in their and was rewarded with really good food.

I actually saw one couple get quick service, at least for ordering. A couple waited with menus for 15-20 minutes then left. Another couple sat at the same table and the waitress took their order in 5 minutes. I don't think she knew it was a different couple, especially since others had been waiting longer.

Bottom line, if you like to people watch, eat good meat tapas, are mellow, and remember to order a beer when handed a menu, you'll like it. If you have no patience, don't waste your time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    128
    60
    20
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and pricey Sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Thumbs up!!
My husband and I went there for lunch with Couple friends. We had a very good time.
The food and service are good, I have no complaints. The lady who attended us, was also warm and friendly.
Food was yummy to say the least.
They have outdoor seating, but we chose to sit inside, which was very warm and cozy. There was a chubby cat sleeping on a chair close to our table.
We sat by the window, you could just sit there for hours just watching people walk by.
Sangria was a little expensive..it was 1Litre for 22 Euros..I think. But it was fantastic, no doubt. The food and tapas otherwise is moderately priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PriankaMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

You have to wait 15 minutes to receive an order and the rude service makes to food inedible. Do not come here if you dont want to be aggravated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank toddhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“CAT ON MY LAP and A TYPICAL SPANISH ATMOSPHERE.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, spanish tapas bar where you can have a taste of typical spanish cuisine. Food is alright but definitely not 'something else'. We had a good bread with tomato tapa (big and tasty) but the tortilla de patatas was quite disappointing (rubbery and not really tasty). On a more positive note, the wine was great and the atmosphere was not too over the top; plus they had a ginger cat roaming the restaurant, who welcomes you as warmly as the waiters.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eliamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great spot to watch the world go bye”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We sat here for a few hours in the sun at a pavement table enjoying lovely tapas and drinks watching the world go bye,
Really good service from nice and freindly staff,
watch out for the steep stairs and low ceilings to the toilets as my head can vouch for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank farrowp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joselito also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Joselito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing