We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
Ranked #98 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in early june 2014, i was very impressed. the hotel is lovely, well appointed with every thing we needed, close to all the places we wanted to visit, on the edge of the canal with good views, excellent price, great hosts.
i didnt expect to be looked after as well, with the hotel being 2 star, but it proved to be the making of our trip. a good hotel with friendly staff and proprietor made the difference between an average trip and a really good one. natalie the owner cooked our breakfast each day with a smile and good conversation helping us plan our day with good local knowledge. the hotel was clean and a good mix of modern furnishings and character features. we had a deluxe room overlooking the canal, great views. eric the night porter was also helpful and great when questioned on local events/museums and trips out. overall i reccomend this hotel and its location and wont stay anywhere else when i next visit amsterdam.

Room Tip: deluxe room is spacious and ours had a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maffmunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 953 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great location and very friendly helpful staff. Close to everything but looking out on quiet canal. Some rooms are small and stairs are steep - no lift- so book a larger room for a longer stay. Nathalie great source of local information and kindly located us in a first floor room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This place is so cute. The host Nathalie and her family are so welcoming you feel as though you are coming home.

The room was large and spotless, even available early.

I just loved that breakfast, which was made to order each day. Fresh eggs, done however you like and pancakes cooked on the spot. Yummy fresh fruit, cereals and breads. It's like have a home-cooked breakfast made for you.

Nathalie's mum is chief barista and makes a mean coffee. There is a huge variety of teas.

I loved the two cats and the singing dog. She sings along to music and hit's hilarious!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FiB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I only had one day in Amsterdam as part of a stopover on a business trip. I chose this hotel because of it's location and because it was not a very large establishment. Upon arrival, I was immediately upgraded to a bigger room with a view for the same price. Everyone from Nathalie, her mother, to staff members, made me feel very welcome and at home. Breakfast cooked by Nathalie's mother was awesome and reminded my of the pancakes my mother used to make. When I read other posts about this hotel, people complained about the stairs. Were they steep and narrow? Yes, however, Nathalie and her staff carried by bags up and down for me. This is part of the service they provide and guest should avail themselves of it. The location was perfect...in the canal zone, close to everything and very quiet. When I come back to Amsterdam, this is where I will stay again and again. I'd like to thank everyone at the hotel for making this a most pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7190LindaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We are staying here for 2 nights and really pleased with everything! Lovely friendly owner, lovely big room which was an upgrade and bed comfy. No breakfast included in our stay but the delivery of a new coffee machine might change that in the morning!
Definitely coming back next year!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Skateypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Based on Tripadvisor reviews, availability, location, and rates, we stayed at the “View” for five days, in a deluxe room. The room itself was pleasantly decorated and large, facing the back courtyard so there was little outside noise, which is good since we had requested a quiet room. However, and as other comments point out, the staircase is very noisy, and the doors can only be closed by semi-slamming them, so you hear every single person stomping up and down the narrow, steep stairs and slamming their doors shut. The only way to tone this down is to request room on the top floor, which ours unfortunately was not. Since the hotel was fully booked, there was no chance to change rooms. And then there is the toilet in the shower that takes getting used to. As long as you move the toilet paper to a dry location, it’s not too much of a problem, just odd. You should know that the only a/c is a pedestal fan, which was not a problem since the weather was relatively cool when we were there in June. Maybe not so cool in August. The lady who runs the place is very professional and takes care of her clients, but unfortunately she hires some young ladies who are not at all professional. For example, on the first morning when I asked how to get somewhere, the young woman at reception told me to go “look it up on google”: sorry I bothered asking! We tried the ten-euro (per person) breakfast one day and thought it was good: the scrambled eggs with cheese and bacon were plentiful, and there were several buffet choices like breads, cheeses and such. You can also get what looks like tasty pancakes. We are not large breakfast eaters, so we didn’t think the twenty euros extra per day was necessary. The heron perched atop a car outside the hotel every morning is fun. The hotel is well-located for catching the streetcar or bus around the corner, and particularly close to the main museum area and the lively restaurants near it. The deluxe room is not inexpensive, though, particularly for a two-star hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I made a two hour layover and made it a one day visit to Amsterdam. I chose the Boutique view based on price and location. I wanted a room on with a canal view. It was beautiful. Yes, it was several flights up a narrow stairway.....but I knew that ahead of time. Not a problem.

Only a two minute walk from the express bus to the airport.

The manager, Eric was great. I asked him to tell me where I needed to go if I only had one day in Amsterdam. He drew me a walking map with many insider sights. It was great city, clean and I felt safe everywhere I went, even alone.

The room was clean. I left my door to the outside open at night. It was great. If I ever go back I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for a canal view room. Mine was a deluxe...but I would have been fine in the small one if it had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieMaySc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,089 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#60 of 372 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#139 of 372 in Amsterdam
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#55 of 372 in Amsterdam
876 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#72 of 372 in Amsterdam
992 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#101 of 372 in Amsterdam
4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $98 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing