We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cats”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
Ranked #104 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice little boutique style hotel within easy reach of a number of the sights. The staff were very friendly and charming and were able to suggest some interesting and good local eateries. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment but we saw other diners eating and their breakfasts looked appetising. There are also two very welcoming and friendly cats in residence (staff of course).
Our view from our room wasn't great, but we weren't in Amsterdam to stay in our room. The room itself, one of the upgrades, was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little on the small side and some of the spare space in the room itself could have been lost and given over to the bathroom.
My wife and I were using Amsterdam as a base to travel to other cities so the hotel could have been a little closer to the station for our purposes, but if you are staying in Amsterdam to see Amsterdam this is a good location.
Word of warning for those of limited mobility - this is Amsterdam, therefore the buildings are narrow and so are the stairs which are also steep. If this is an issue you will have to find either a super expensive deluxe hotel or a bland international chain which may have a lift.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerpumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 974 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Our first taste of Amsterdam and definitely not the last. The Boutique was clean friendly & comfortable , the staff were lovely and the choices at breakfast were plentiful , the resident cats were a homely welcome too !❤️ We would definitely stay again as it very central. We didn't have a view in our room but we saw enough on the river tour. Bathroom was tiny, with a loo in the shower - bit bizarre.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wingsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We only had a day and a half in Amsterdam so being able to get around the city efficiently was a must and this place delivered! It was a couple blocks from the trams and the 98 bus (which takes you to the airport), and a simple 10-20 minute walk to just about all the tourist spots. Anya was so welcoming, she helped us find all the places we wanted to see and watched our bags while we went exploring, she even carried them up the stairs to our room. Oh and she makes the best pancakes! They were quite possibly the highlight of our trip!

The room was small, but cozy, and the bathroom even smaller but we didn't mind this since we were out most of the day. The bed was quite comfy after a long day of walking and even though we were on the first floor right next to the stairs it was still quiet. Everything was really clean the only problem was keeping the bathroom dry after a shower in the smallest shower ever! All-in-all this was a wonderful hotel and staying here definitely made our stay in Amsterdam that much more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagonwheel1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our room's view made up for the space we lacked. Natalie, Mama and Anya made us feel truly at home and like family. Breakfast was wonderful! If we ever get back to Amsterdam we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Pros: Everything except the cons. Location was great. It’s next to the tram and next to one of the major canals of Amsterdam. The hotel itself was beautifully designed. Breakfast was to die for, especially the pancakes of Anya.

Cons: There is no lift and the stairs are narrow and very steep, typical of classic Dutch Houses. Bathroom is also quite small.

OVERALL, 2 thumbs up for this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephAnthonyLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Friendly and relaxed welcome from our host who insisted on carrying heavy bags up/down narrow stairs. Good breakfast with freshly cooked pancakes - all varieties and eggs/bacon. We were really made to feel welcome and felt part of the old city.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room rather than the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#43 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#62 of 375 in Amsterdam
284 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#191 of 375 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#97 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,062 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#148 of 375 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#236 of 375 in Amsterdam
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $87 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing