We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, challenging building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
Ranked #86 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
Level Contributor
451 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great staff, challenging building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We chose this hotel based on many good reviews, but we did not ask the right questions as we booked, particularly “is there an elevator,” and “are the rooms air-conditioned?”

All members of the hotel staff were simply delightful, and very helpful with information - and with luggage, which was more than just a plus. The hotel is small, and rooms are arranged on three floors plus two in the basement. Access is by very steep and narrow stairs. I managed to get my suitcase up the steps from the street to the reception floor but after that I was prepared to leave unless I had help getting my luggage up the steps – there is no elevator. Our room was on the top (fourth floor by US numbering) and there was a significant effort needed just to climb those stairs; another guest on the same floor, much younger than I am, confessed to finding it exhausting. We actually went out one morning leaving something behind rather than climbing back up to the fourth floor to get it! Coming down those stairs was somehow even more daunting, given the steep angle, and doing so with a suitcase was beyond me.

Rooms with numbers ending in 3, or 4, plus the breakfast area on the reception floor, have a view of the canal. Other rooms essentially look at a brick wall of the neighboring building, and a bit of a central patio with some trees. By the time we arrived and understood that not all rooms had canal views, the hotel was fully booked and we were out of luck.

Rooms with numbers ending in 3 have a bathroom with a tub. Bathrooms in the other rooms are essentially large shower stalls – the shower adjoins the toilet or the sink, and you will have to wipe down the toilet before using it after showering. This is a standard arrangement in some European hotels, but we’d not experienced it for some time, and it does take getting used to.

Our stay coincided with a hot spell in the weather, and the lack of air-conditioning made sleeping difficult. The hotel provides fans, but no cross-draft is possible. The beds are fitted with a bottom sheet and a heavy duvet, again very common in European lodgings – but providing two options – no cover, or too much cover!

The breakfasts are very good, and you can just choose to have a coffee if that is your style.

The location is excellent, close to the major restaurant district and in walking distance of the museum district and several canal boat stops. If you go when the lack of air-conditioning is not a potential problem, and have a first floor room on the front, don't hesitate - but understand the challenges of the upper floors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purmamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    264
    78
    30
    13
See reviews for
128
484
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is fantastically central and the reception staff couldn't be friendlier. Providing gluten-free breakfasts is also a definite plus (the "French version" pancakes - like crepes - had my friend in raptures. The "Dutch version" was more filling but much less appetising). And on arrival we were upgraded for free to lovely spacious, bigger rooms. My friend had a fantastic room on the first floor, complete with old fireplace. I had the basement room - almost as spacious but not as light. Unfortunately it was right on the street and at the foot of the stairs to the hotel so quite noisy for folk stopping and having a chat (and an argument, as happened for 30 minutes on the first night!). And you also get the noise from the reception room when guests are arriving or leaving. But the beds are really comfy.

The chaos refers to breakfast. There's one person on and they have to do all the food (including pancakes and eggs), set the tables and deal with people checking out. The reception, kitchen and dining room are all in the same area. On our 2nd morning, we had to wait for coffee and I got my crepe about 20 minutes before my pal. The person on duty got extremely grumpy - I'm not surprised given the pressure she was under but it didn't do her or the hotel justice. On the 3rd morning, we waited for ages for the table to be set (cutlery was still in the dishwasher after an earlier big group), got our own glasses for juice from other tables and again had to wait for a while for hot food, with 20 minutes between us. The person on duty gave the impression of being quite relaxed (she told us of an Amsterdam saying "Take it easy, before easy takes you!"). Just as well we weren't in a hurry! There also don't seem to be enough TV remote controls for the rooms (I had to ask for one) and I had to keep asking reception to activate my room card (they had to let me in one time because the machine that did that was down).

We were on a relaxed holiday with no real deadlines, so all this wasn't as annoying as it might have been. But if you needed a quick breakfast, you won't get it, at least not on our experience. Come on, HBV, get the basics right! So much of what you do is 5 star and that's what saves this review from being 3 star. Also be aware that if you have mobility problems, the stairs are very steep and there is no lift....though the great staff will help you with your luggage.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room looking out on the street. If you can, get the big double room with the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel exemplifies Amsterdam at its best! The staff were absolutely wonderful! The room was very nice for a small local hotel. Breakfasts are well worth the 10 Euro price. (Try the pancakes, they are great!) Be sure to request a canal front room as the views are terrific! Sure, the stairs are a challenge, but as they say in the Netherlands, 'we have no mountains, but we have stairs'. We look forward to returning to the Boutique Hotel View soon.

Room Tip: Request a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry2sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend, over Easter. We booked a small double room with a canal view. It was petit but it had everything we needed. At night it was quiet and we could sleep without distruption.

The staff at this hotel are top notch! They're friends, welcoming and helpful. They cook a lovely breakfast in the morning and there are cereal options or fruit to pick from too. They have a pet dog and a cat too, both of which are friendly and add to the relaxed atmosphere.

If you need help with where places are or what to the do I found that the staff were more than willing to help. There are a selection of cards in reception which offer discounts and good deals in a lot of local tourist attractions, from food to museums.

Room Tip: We booked a small room with a canal view. It was small, but for the time we actually spent in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great location for getting to most places.
The owner was brilliant, very helpful and friendly and tried to make stay as good as possible.
Decor nice and breakfast good. Although the man on duty in the mornings could do with some help as he has to answer calls, check people out and cook everyone's breakfast!

Room Tip: The small rooms with a view are what it says on the tin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
914 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel is nice, total 15 rooms on the narrow, steep floors, the staff is even better. Alessandro and Dragala were ever so pleasant and helpful as was Nina when we checked in. If you are older or having difficulty walking or climbing stairs, this hotel is not for you. Very steep, windy stairs, no lift to upper two floors. Good size rooms, decent bathrooms and centrally located near everything in downtown Amsterdam. They also serve breakfast by order, the large pancakes are delicious. Old style renovated canal house gives the feel of B&B. A definate two thumbs up!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff and owner are lovely, gracious and extremely helpful. The location is perfect - easy connections to trams, the train station and close to excellent restaurants. The breakfasts are delicious! My room was small but clean and suited my needs in every way. The view over the canal was gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#35 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#115 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#118 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,857 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Property: Boutique Hotel View
Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing