We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
Ranked #87 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    273
    80
    30
    13
See reviews for
128
492
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A wonderful hotel in a great location. Reasonably easy to find - take a 1, 2 or 5 tram from anywhere in Amsterdam to Leidseplein, the main square, and head directly toward the canal. Leidsekade runs along the canal bank. The building was undergoing renovation work during our stay so we had a room at the back of the building and thus swapped a canal view for a quiet and peaceful location toward the rear. The room was very clean, spacious and well decorated with 2 huge windows letting in the Amsterdam daylight. Thick 'blackout' curtains made sure we didn't wake too early, though.

Shower, toilet and washbasin were located in a small wetroom off the main bedroom. Initially we found this idea a little strange but it actually turned out to be a very good setup. Not sure why, but beds in hotels on the continent always seem more comfortable than English beds and ours proved to be no exception.

Breakfast was something we looked forward to every morning. The dining area was clean, bright and welcoming, with the usual continental fare available, along with fruit juice and coffee. There is no restaurant in the hotel but the staff cook eggs and pancakes to order at one end of the dining room. Either scrambled eggs topped with bacon or else a piping hot pancake with syrup went down a treat. My mouth waters at the memory ...

The hotel is 2 minutes' walk from the Canal Bus stop - you can see it from the front door (handy tip - get a 48 hour Hop on/Hop off ticket - €29.70 - and just cruise around until you get to something you want to visit). 3 minutes' walk sees Leidseplein for eating or catching a tram and 20 minutes' walk gets you to most of the sightseeing areas that will keep you interested for the whole day. The location, coupled with the very friendly and helpful staff, made our trip really enjoyable and one we want to repeat.

I have often thought the hotel star rating system a little strange - it accounts for the building but not the people. This hotel is officially rated 2 star, but here's how I would rate it: Start with 4 stars and take one off for the lack of a lift (Dutch staircases are a bit steep) and another for a lack of on-site restaurant (not a problem considering the number of eating places nearby). Now add one star back for the wonderfully helpful and friendly staff and another for being a big part of our introduction to Holland. Then half a star (optional) for the two very friendly hotel cats!

Boutique Hotel View is one of those hotels that really turn a holiday into an experience. We really didn't want to leave. 110% recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the canal. Deluxe rooms are large and airy with high ceilings and enorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mister216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband & I have just returned home from a 4 night break at the Boutique View Hotel. From the airport we travelled by bus - the number 197, at 4 Euros each - so easy (don't bother with Taxis) and the stop is within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. On arrival we were greeted by Anya - very helpful and friendly, making us feel so welcome. We had booked room 304 - a small double with a canal view and balcony. The room is located on the top floor and Anya helped carry our heavy bags. (Beware the steep stairs but you do get used to them)! Now about the room. The view was slightly obscured by the scaffolding placed outside the front of the hotel but this did not spoil anything. The double bed was extremely comfortable, has modern furnishings and a small bathroom with a great shower - hot water in plenty. Breakfast is great value at 10 Euros - a lovely choice of breads, cheeses, cooked meats, cereals and delicious pancakes or tasty eggs & bacon :)
We would like to express our thanks to Anya, Natalie and all at the Boutique View for making our stay so enjoyable. They all work very hard!!! We were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in a great location - situated in a quiet street but within a few minutes stroll of the all the local amenities. We would definitely recommend this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Room 304 Canal View is small but you get a great view we stayed for 4 nights and the room was more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJLocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Was Really nice Hotel,friendly staff bar prices quite good this Hotel ideal for city trip Rooms are clean and comfartable specialy thanks for all the Reception staff.i recomend this nice boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobi119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and we would return. Strong points are: 1) easy access from the airport, 2) excellent location, 3) helpful staff, and 4) tasty breakfasts, which are explained below. I will note that the rooms are small (as advertised) and the stairs are steep; these are not important features to us, but may be a deal breaker for others.

After an 11 hour nonstop flight, our top priority was getting to the hotel. Transport information had been provided when we booked the room. We walked out of the airport to the bus stop, got off at the Leidseplein stop, and walked down the street to the hotel. Very simple, which is much appreciated when sleep deprived.

The location is excellent. It is around the corner from a major thoroughfare with tram and bus service and everything was in walking distance--museums, restaurants, shopping, etc.

Special praise goes to the staff who were extremely helpful. As mentioned already, the stairs are steep and we were on the third floor. Anya carried our luggage upstairs when we arrived and downstairs when we left. What a treat! She also gave us information about restaurants. The first morning she made us pancakes for breakfast (she also cooks eggs to order). All of the breakfast options were excellent, although it is hard for me to get past fresh baked croissants with jam. Being able to eat breakfast (10 Euro per person) downstairs is convenient.

I had reserved a canal side room with view, but when we arrived there was scaffolding across the front of the building as some refurbishment was being done to the exterior. Without having to ask, the price of the room was reduced to that of a room without a view. Frankly, the window was so small and high that I would not reserve a room with a view in the future--just not worth the extra money in my opinion. I also want to note that the room was very small. We were aware of this when we booked, but keep in mind that European small is indeed small.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Our entire Amsterdam experience was positive, particularly due to the helpfulness of the staff.

Room Tip: Book early for the best choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I had the absolute PLEASURE of staying here for 2 nights in mid May. From the second we walked in we were HAPPY! We were rapidly greeted, checked in, offered an upgraded larger room for our even larger bags, given a map, offered drinks, and THEN....the 2 women working offered to carry our VERY HEAVY and LARGE bags up the extremely steep stairs. With our upgrade came 2 additional flights. I could not believe these women were in siting to help, WOW!!! What Service!!!! Of course, My husband carried them, but this is the service they unconditionally offered. From there it kept getting better! They made a fresh meat plate one afternoon to go with the cheese we bought. The second afternoon after touring the city, The receptionist was making herself a pancake and offered us one. I mean, how much more could they do? They sent us to an AMAZING local Dutch restaurant (le Bouwer Hollander?), A great
jazz bar, Bourbon street, etc. They made us want to stay a few extra days!!!

If you are American and expect an "American super sized" room and facilities, do not book here. If you want mazing service, warm feelings, and to feel like you are coming home, then definitely BOOK HERE!!!! Beds are comfy, modern decor, and like everyone says, the Dutch stairs are
intense. You get used to them, but very steep and narrow. Overall, I have absolutely nothing but great things to say. Would give an A++++!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room if you have large bags. We liked the 3rd floor because there was no one abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkchristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#47 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#117 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#60 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#79 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Property: Boutique Hotel View
Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing