We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome service, hotel and location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
Ranked #86 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome service, hotel and location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We went there for a short break from the 09 july till the 11th.
Considering the city we were a bit worried about the quality of the hotels, we were very surprised to see that actually the pictures were matching exactly what you would see in person! The room was compact (for a short break it's absolutely fine) but beautifully set and with a very good bathroom. The bed was super comfy and we had a beautiful canal-side view! Always very clean and with an inviting smell at breakfast.
The deal is the you have the service of an hotel but the welcoming of a family!
It's not a two star hotel beside the fact it has no lift!
The owner and "mama" are super-cool people, we'll definitely go back there once in Amsterdam again!!!
Luca&Valentina

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucalondon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    264
    78
    30
    13
See reviews for
128
484
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a Europe trip - we started in Italy (Rome-Florence-Naples-Capri), and we planned to head to Amsterdam on the ultimate American holiday: July 4th.

With travel comes unexpected twists, and we experienced just that when my husband's wallet (w/ passport, traveler's checks, a memory card, credit cards, ID and $300 euro) was stolen on the train in Rome. It happened on a Sunday, which meant that the US Embassy was closed. Unfortunately, the following day was the 4th of July, the United States' Independence Day = US Embassy was closed. We were scheduled to fly out of Rome to Amsterdam at 6:20am on July 4th.

We were unable to travel without my husband's passport, and we had to miss our Amsterdam trip completely. Although Italy was amazing - beautiful culture, great food, amazing sites - we were looking forward to Amsterdam the most.

This brings me to my review of Boutique Hotel View. What first struck us about this hotel is the aesthetics - the building itself, rooms, lobby are adorable! Beyond that, their website is professional and their prices are just right.

I emailed Boutique Hotel View, explaining that we will be a no-show in Amsterdam. I lamented about our experience, and to my surprise, the General Manager reimbursed us for our stay. This literally brought tears to my eyes since my husband and I lost about $1500 in this experience. After going through the authorities in Italy - feeling (unfortunately) helpless - it is so refreshing to come across someone that has compassion.

My husband and I do plan to travel to Amsterdam in the coming years, and we plan to stay with Boutique Hotel View. Any hotel or General Manager of a hotel that exhibits such humanity and kindness, I will rant and rave! I do hope you take my review into account and book your time with Boutique Hotel View!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank califf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just back from staying for 3 nights in the triple room with my mum and sister. Excellent room, lovely high ceilings, great furnishings, small bathroom but functional.

Staff were brilliant - particularly the sister, didn't get her name.

Had breakfast on one morning which was good, but wanted to explore the area and try other places.

Location was perfect, walked to most places and it was quiet in the night time which allowed for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Small room but very clean and modern. Only disadvantage was that we were on the fourth floor - very tiny steep staircase which was difficult for hauling up luggage.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank luluf4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirkkala, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

A great locations for those who don't mind taking the tram and enjoy a good nice sleep. Very quiet but only a minute walk to a busy restaurant area. And with the tram but 10 minutes from the center or museum areas. Very friendly staff and good breakfast: for 10 e all-you-can-eat coffee, tea and juices, bread, croissants and rolls with cheese or meat, yoghurt and fruits and they make your eggs just as you like them.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs, go to the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siirinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed here for four nights-a Monday through a Friday and had a great stay. Our 13 year old son was with us so we had a triple room-large by European standards and comfortable. The beds were soft and it was quiet at night-hard to come by in Amsterdam. The owners were friendly and very helpful. It was unseasonably warm-hot and humid for a couple of days, but there was a fan in the bedroom which helped us with comfort at night. Steep stairs-which is also not unusual for a canal row house. Very close to tram stop and the Rikjsmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: email them and make a request
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kvanderdussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Whilst the service is very friendly and the location is great we didn't totally love it. What let us down is the fact the the double beds are simple two singles put together (and even made separately). Also we didn't necessarily feel it was great value for money. However the staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Our_Thoughts_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#39 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#35 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#111 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#119 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,857 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Property: Boutique Hotel View
Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing