We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place too stay in Amsterdam”
Review of Inn old Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn old Amsterdam
Ranked #88 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
1 review
“The best place too stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

yes yes this was a wonderfull weekend @ inn old nice vieuw on the market while i was having a excellent breakfast, everything is very clean and the beds are really comfortabel, daniel the owner is very friendly and he will answer all your questions what you can do in Amsterdam our what there is to do @ that moment, hope too go back soon, thnx daniel greetings Ron :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rableenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    34
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
68
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had a fantastic time, we were met by ron, who showed us to our b and b. He was pleasant and helpful. The b & b was really smart and comfortable, it met all our needs. Even giving us the opportunity to save money by buying in our food. Everything is local supermarket, cafe's coffee shops n bars. It was really nice to have somewhere that felt like home to return to after the hustle and bustle of amsterdam. No one bothered us throughout our whole stay, however we had a contact number if we needed help. I would recommend this to families n friends. Thank you we had a wonderful stay, and will mosyt definatley b returning

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D33-dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flying Fish Cove, null, Christmas Island
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Kind and welcoming host, charming and neat room, ideally situated in the heart of old a'dam at the lively square Nieuwmarkt. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, fresh breakfast buffet upstairs, all necessary facilities in the room.

Room Tip: For those who have a very light sleep earplugs recommendable, as a bar is on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This B&B was close to the train station and an easy walk to all places we were wanting to visit while in Amsterdam. The bar below the room did not impact our stay at all. We had a room at the front of the building and shared a bathroom with the hosts...which we were a bit concerned would be uncomfortable but ended up not being a problem at all! The breakfast was self serving...you take your dishes from your room and load up your plates, and then eat in your room and do your own dishes. The breakfast wasn't always stocked with what we needed, however. The first morning it was great, the second morning there was no milk left for our muesli, as well as no meat or juice left. Other than that everything was wonderful. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable, and robes were provided which was nice for going to and from the bathroom. The host was extremely helpful and pleasant as well.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XXXVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Inn Old was a great surprise! Very cozy, big room. Even the bathroom, wich we had to share with the owners, was ok, very clean. The breakfast, wich is served in the room, was delicious. Our room was in the front side of the building, so it was really noisy on the weekend... I think it's the only problem, but if you take some drinks in one of the good pubs nearby you won't have problems to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Inn Old Amsterdam last month. We had reservations for three nights, but a few days before our arrival Daniel contacted me about a mix-up with the booking - he had double-booked our first night so it wasn't available for us. While this was disappointing, he did find us alternate lodging for the night, and he did what he could to make the transition as smooth as possible for us (made the reservation for us at the other place; let us leave our luggage with him and he transferred it over there for us since it was outside the city center; covered the difference in room price; etc).

I was somewhat disappointed with the room though. We had reserved the upstairs studio which, according to the website, has a great view of the Waag and Nieuwmarkt Square, with lounging divans, etc. Well guess what... there are TWO studios upstairs (no mention of this on the website, I just double-checked) and we got the back one with a boring view of rooftops, and a super low ceiling over the bed. Not the end of the world, but false advertising leaves a very bad taste in my mouth. The shower in this room was funky, it was very open (make sure you're VERY comfortable with your roommate!) and at the top of the spiral staircase, with only a 3-foot wall separating the shower from the stairs... so needless to say the stairs got rather wet from the spray, making them quite slippery. A shower curtain is definitely in order here.

As for breakfast, I'm not sure if I missed it? I was told it would be put out in the morning but I never saw anything put out other than the yogurts that were always in the shared fridge. I was up and out by 9:00 AM or so each morning which doesn't seem unreasonably early to me, but maybe that was too early for their breakfast. As for the egg boiler mentioned in other reviews, it was not to be found in this back studio, and the coffee maker was very odd so there was no hope of us working it (the info in the room said it would be explained upon check-in, but it hadn't been). We ended up buying breakfast out each morning which was alright, just know that you may have to do the same.

On the positive side, the Inn's location was great, right on the Nieuwmarkt Square which hosted a different market each morning, several bars/cafes right there, less than a 10 minute walk from Central Station, walking distance to everything. The studio was spacious and the bed was great, one nice big bed instead of two singles pushed together, and quite firm. And Daniel and Nikki were very gracious hosts. I just wish the second studio had been explained, and that the booking mistake hadn't happened.

Room Tip: If you pick "the" studio, ask if it's the front one or the back one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Inn old Amsterdam. Nikki and Daniel are more than helpful with tips and problem solving and certainly not intrusive. The relaxed atmosphere fits perfectly with the Amsterdam way of life. We really enjoyed putting together our little breakfast and having it in the room. The selection of cheeses is lecker lecker! Everything you need is there and you can set your own schedule...eat and sleep when you want. And you really can walk everywhere from this location.
Yes, the stairs are narrow, like in every original house from the 15th or 16th century in Amsterdam. Duh, this is history, isn't it? If you're that fat then stay in the InterConti.
And what about the club(s) downstairs with live music and the great view of the square with it's daily markets and events? If you're going to Amsterdam for a "quiet, quaint" vacation, think twice. We loved the excitement and, after crawling into bed afer 2 or 3 each night, slept like babies with our earplugs and the little room fan purring in the background.
This is the "Inn" place to be! An added bonus would be the pizza and a bottle of fine Italian wine for a nice price at Daniel & Nikki's Italian Concept store around the corner.

Room Tip: There's a room on the backside that's probably quietest...but not with the great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmEJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
#238 of 367 in Amsterdam
48 reviews
Centrum
Artist House Apartments
Artist House Apartments
#34 of 230 in Amsterdam
115 reviews
Jordaan
B&B La Festa
B&B La Festa
#38 of 336 in Amsterdam
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 336 in Amsterdam
211 reviews
Centrum
Old Centre Apartments - Nieuwmarkt Area
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 336 in Amsterdam
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn old Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn old Amsterdam

Property: Inn old Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwmarkt 5, 1011 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Old Amsterdam is located in an historical monument full of character (1645) on the Nieuwmarkt, a vibrant residential quarter with bars, restaurants and outdoor cafes. Our house looks out onto the most important gate of the city of Amsterdam (1488), the Sint Anthonispoort, now known as De Waag.For our guests we have fitted up a comfortable room with a kitchenette on the first floor, and a large studio with private bathroom, toilet and kitchen on the second floor.Just as in the past, the city gate is a good base from which to visit the historic centre, the many attractions, festivals, festivities and shows in Amsterdam. Nearly all at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Inn old Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing