We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Make sure you ask which one you're getting if you're in the Studio” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn old Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn old Amsterdam
Ranked #93 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Clinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Make sure you ask which one you're getting if you're in the Studio”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Inn Old Amsterdam last month. We had reservations for three nights, but a few days before our arrival Daniel contacted me about a mix-up with the booking - he had double-booked our first night so it wasn't available for us. While this was disappointing, he did find us alternate lodging for the night, and he did what he could to make the transition as smooth as possible for us (made the reservation for us at the other place; let us leave our luggage with him and he transferred it over there for us since it was outside the city center; covered the difference in room price; etc).

I was somewhat disappointed with the room though. We had reserved the upstairs studio which, according to the website, has a great view of the Waag and Nieuwmarkt Square, with lounging divans, etc. Well guess what... there are TWO studios upstairs (no mention of this on the website, I just double-checked) and we got the back one with a boring view of rooftops, and a super low ceiling over the bed. Not the end of the world, but false advertising leaves a very bad taste in my mouth. The shower in this room was funky, it was very open (make sure you're VERY comfortable with your roommate!) and at the top of the spiral staircase, with only a 3-foot wall separating the shower from the stairs... so needless to say the stairs got rather wet from the spray, making them quite slippery. A shower curtain is definitely in order here.

As for breakfast, I'm not sure if I missed it? I was told it would be put out in the morning but I never saw anything put out other than the yogurts that were always in the shared fridge. I was up and out by 9:00 AM or so each morning which doesn't seem unreasonably early to me, but maybe that was too early for their breakfast. As for the egg boiler mentioned in other reviews, it was not to be found in this back studio, and the coffee maker was very odd so there was no hope of us working it (the info in the room said it would be explained upon check-in, but it hadn't been). We ended up buying breakfast out each morning which was alright, just know that you may have to do the same.

On the positive side, the Inn's location was great, right on the Nieuwmarkt Square which hosted a different market each morning, several bars/cafes right there, less than a 10 minute walk from Central Station, walking distance to everything. The studio was spacious and the bed was great, one nice big bed instead of two singles pushed together, and quite firm. And Daniel and Nikki were very gracious hosts. I just wish the second studio had been explained, and that the booking mistake hadn't happened.

Room Tip: If you pick "the" studio, ask if it's the front one or the back one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
62
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Inn old Amsterdam. Nikki and Daniel are more than helpful with tips and problem solving and certainly not intrusive. The relaxed atmosphere fits perfectly with the Amsterdam way of life. We really enjoyed putting together our little breakfast and having it in the room. The selection of cheeses is lecker lecker! Everything you need is there and you can set your own schedule...eat and sleep when you want. And you really can walk everywhere from this location.
Yes, the stairs are narrow, like in every original house from the 15th or 16th century in Amsterdam. Duh, this is history, isn't it? If you're that fat then stay in the InterConti.
And what about the club(s) downstairs with live music and the great view of the square with it's daily markets and events? If you're going to Amsterdam for a "quiet, quaint" vacation, think twice. We loved the excitement and, after crawling into bed afer 2 or 3 each night, slept like babies with our earplugs and the little room fan purring in the background.
This is the "Inn" place to be! An added bonus would be the pizza and a bottle of fine Italian wine for a nice price at Daniel & Nikki's Italian Concept store around the corner.

Room Tip: There's a room on the backside that's probably quietest...but not with the great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmEJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

A stylish B&B, with a central location. We stayed for two nights and found the atmosphere warm and friendly. The room was well equipped with everything we needed, including special touches like bathrobes, guidebooks, and electricity convertors. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend stay at the Inn Old Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess_Filip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Inn Old Amsterdam is in a fantastic location but we probably wouldn't stay there again. Yes, there is a noisy pub downstairs but the noise did not go on very late and we had no trouble falling asleep. We've been all over Europe and I think the Inn's staircase (which you must climb to reach reception) is one of the narrowest, rickety sets I've ever climbed. The bathroom leaves much to be desired... there is nothing separating the floor of the shower from the toilet area mere inches away. I know this is sometimes normal in Europe but this was one of the least pleasing setups I've experienced. Breakfast was pretty much non-existant... there was some bread, stroopwafels and juice set out... There were eggs with a note that said our room had an egg boiler in the pantry. The egg boiler looked to be about 25 years old and was broken. I'm sure there are probably better inns and small hotels (which I prefer over big-box type places in Europe) in good areas for a similar price. It just wasn't that great... and I rarely give negative reviews.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Inn Old Amsterdam was the perfect accomdation for our couple weekend.

Right from the booking I was very impressed, Daniel was very helpful and had great communication with the booking, payments, directions and was helpful to allow us early check in :)

Very warm, friendly welcome when we arrived. The room was everything we needed, the size and facilities were perfect, it was clean, warm and well decorated.

It is a great value for money and it is so close to tourists attractions, museums etc. but far away enough from the noise. A short walk from station and Daniel was very helpful with directions - Perfect location especially when on a short weekend visit!

We are looking to return here again.

A small note for improvement could be the breakfast, could do with a little more, or a better selection, but what was available was fresh and healthy.

Thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMissJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

On arrival I really liked this place, it is close to the centre of town, Centraal Station (& the red light district, FWIW). Warm welcome. Nicely decorated 14th century building. However, on the ground floor is the Cotton Club (a pub, open til 1am), the first floor has the room above the pub overlooking the square and the owners room at the back (you share the bathroom but this is ok, just be aware of it). The second has the two studio appartments, one also overlooking the square above the Club and the other above the owners room. We really liked staying here but for us the noise from the club kept us awake far later than we wanted after a big day. You need to be used to noise and/or comfortable with earplugs (or out til the pub closes) for me to recommend the room. Comments on the steep stairs are very valid, but the owner does offer to help with luggage. Breakfast is lots of cheeses, fruit, bread and crackers. Chocolates too ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Short walk from the station, great location and good base to explore Amsterdam. Nikki is a great host, very helpful and accommodating. We had a great time and will return for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_F17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Artist House Apartments
Artist House Apartments
#25 of 219 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#17 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#32 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#21 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn old Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn old Amsterdam

Property: Inn old Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwmarkt 5, 1011 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Old Amsterdam is located in an historical monument full of character (1645) on the Nieuwmarkt, a vibrant residential quarter with bars, restaurants and outdoor cafes. Our house looks out onto the most important gate of the city of Amsterdam (1488), the Sint Anthonispoort, now known as De Waag.For our guests we have fitted up a comfortable room with a kitchenette on the first floor, and a large studio with private bathroom, toilet and kitchen on the second floor.Just as in the past, the city gate is a good base from which to visit the historic centre, the many attractions, festivals, festivities and shows in Amsterdam. Nearly all at walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing