We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Probably wouldn't stay a second time.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn old Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn old Amsterdam
Ranked #103 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Probably wouldn't stay a second time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Inn Old Amsterdam is in a fantastic location but we probably wouldn't stay there again. Yes, there is a noisy pub downstairs but the noise did not go on very late and we had no trouble falling asleep. We've been all over Europe and I think the Inn's staircase (which you must climb to reach reception) is one of the narrowest, rickety sets I've ever climbed. The bathroom leaves much to be desired... there is nothing separating the floor of the shower from the toilet area mere inches away. I know this is sometimes normal in Europe but this was one of the least pleasing setups I've experienced. Breakfast was pretty much non-existant... there was some bread, stroopwafels and juice set out... There were eggs with a note that said our room had an egg boiler in the pantry. The egg boiler looked to be about 25 years old and was broken. I'm sure there are probably better inns and small hotels (which I prefer over big-box type places in Europe) in good areas for a similar price. It just wasn't that great... and I rarely give negative reviews.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
62
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Inn Old Amsterdam was the perfect accomdation for our couple weekend.

Right from the booking I was very impressed, Daniel was very helpful and had great communication with the booking, payments, directions and was helpful to allow us early check in :)

Very warm, friendly welcome when we arrived. The room was everything we needed, the size and facilities were perfect, it was clean, warm and well decorated.

It is a great value for money and it is so close to tourists attractions, museums etc. but far away enough from the noise. A short walk from station and Daniel was very helpful with directions - Perfect location especially when on a short weekend visit!

We are looking to return here again.

A small note for improvement could be the breakfast, could do with a little more, or a better selection, but what was available was fresh and healthy.

Thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMissJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

On arrival I really liked this place, it is close to the centre of town, Centraal Station (& the red light district, FWIW). Warm welcome. Nicely decorated 14th century building. However, on the ground floor is the Cotton Club (a pub, open til 1am), the first floor has the room above the pub overlooking the square and the owners room at the back (you share the bathroom but this is ok, just be aware of it). The second has the two studio appartments, one also overlooking the square above the Club and the other above the owners room. We really liked staying here but for us the noise from the club kept us awake far later than we wanted after a big day. You need to be used to noise and/or comfortable with earplugs (or out til the pub closes) for me to recommend the room. Comments on the steep stairs are very valid, but the owner does offer to help with luggage. Breakfast is lots of cheeses, fruit, bread and crackers. Chocolates too ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Short walk from the station, great location and good base to explore Amsterdam. Nikki is a great host, very helpful and accommodating. We had a great time and will return for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_F17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecco, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Me, my girlfriend, cousin, mom and uncle were on May 2011 at Inn Old Amsterdam, and we have had a very good weekend. Room and studio were well-furnished and the beds are very confortable. Daniel and his girlfriend are nice and friendly persons. I suggest you to stay in the Hotel/B&B and to don't pay attenction to all comment about rumors in the square... (is very quiete to sleep in the apartment at the second floor). Cheers

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre_Vale_Arbovas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

granted, I have never stayed anywhere else... but still, I am convinced that this is the best! AMAZING location! On Nieuwmarket with many great bars and restaurants (Choa Phraya for Thai was delicious). in the city centre and just blocks from the red light district, but far enough away that you wouldn't know it if you didn't walk in that direction. Clean, comfortable with very friendly and helpful hosts. Would absolutely recommend it to a friend and will definitely stay here again when coming back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexisjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and son in the amazing studio room for 3 nights.
The location is perfect and the area offers many good places to have a lovely family diner. All is within walking distance.
The hosts, Daniel & Nikki, were very friendly and hepfull!

We will defintely come back again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamPetra097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Artist House Apartments
Artist House Apartments
#24 of 221 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#18 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#33 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#20 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn old Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn old Amsterdam

Property: Inn old Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwmarkt 5, 1011 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Old Amsterdam is located in an historical monument full of character (1645) on the Nieuwmarkt, a vibrant residential quarter with bars, restaurants and outdoor cafes. Our house looks out onto the most important gate of the city of Amsterdam (1488), the Sint Anthonispoort, now known as De Waag.For our guests we have fitted up a comfortable room with a kitchenette on the first floor, and a large studio with private bathroom, toilet and kitchen on the second floor.Just as in the past, the city gate is a good base from which to visit the historic centre, the many attractions, festivals, festivities and shows in Amsterdam. Nearly all at walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing