We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Will return, great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn old Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn old Amsterdam
Ranked #101 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will return, great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Short walk from the station, great location and good base to explore Amsterdam. Nikki is a great host, very helpful and accommodating. We had a great time and will return for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_F17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
62
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lecco, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Me, my girlfriend, cousin, mom and uncle were on May 2011 at Inn Old Amsterdam, and we have had a very good weekend. Room and studio were well-furnished and the beds are very confortable. Daniel and his girlfriend are nice and friendly persons. I suggest you to stay in the Hotel/B&B and to don't pay attenction to all comment about rumors in the square... (is very quiete to sleep in the apartment at the second floor). Cheers

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre_Vale_Arbovas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

granted, I have never stayed anywhere else... but still, I am convinced that this is the best! AMAZING location! On Nieuwmarket with many great bars and restaurants (Choa Phraya for Thai was delicious). in the city centre and just blocks from the red light district, but far enough away that you wouldn't know it if you didn't walk in that direction. Clean, comfortable with very friendly and helpful hosts. Would absolutely recommend it to a friend and will definitely stay here again when coming back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexisjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and son in the amazing studio room for 3 nights.
The location is perfect and the area offers many good places to have a lovely family diner. All is within walking distance.
The hosts, Daniel & Nikki, were very friendly and hepfull!

We will defintely come back again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamPetra097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragança Paulista, Brasil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Incredible location, wonderful, spacious and confortable room, the kindest host.
You can trust the website photos. The room is exactly as shown.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreia_MGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here from May 31 to June 3rd. The B & B is located right in the heart of Nieuwmarkt Square, near many attractions and the Red Light District. It was extremely easy to get to it from the Main Central Station and during our stay, we rented bikes one day and walked everywhere else. We stayed in the "Room" right above the Cotton Club. The room is extremely clean, bright and airy and beautifully decorated. The view onto the Square right from your bed is amazing!! There is a small kitchenette in the room with fridge, sink, kettle, coffee maker, dishes...which was really handy; and a small and lovely eating area. The bathroom is right outside your door and shared with the owner. Of course, it would be nice to have your own private bath, but we had no problems sharing the bathroom with the owners and rarely ran into them. Daniel, the owner, was extremely friendly, and more than willing to chat, help with anything and provide suggestions for things to do, etc....

The only suggestions I have is that the breakfast consist of a bit more selection - it is essentially just breads and cheeses. In addition, because the room is over a club, it can be a tad noisy at nights, but we both went to bed with earplugs in and honestly had no problems sleeping.... the bed is really comfortable!!! Other than that however, we had an awesome stay at the Inn Old Amsterdam. We did the Day Tour to Zaanse Schans, Marken, and Volendam and highly recommend it!! Also, the Van Gogh Museum and going for a bike ride in Vondelpark is a MUST!!! My husband and I will definitely be back to Amsterdam and hopefully will be able to stay at the Inn Old Amsterdam again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Nikki was more than accommodating to every request we had. The property is exceptionally clean and well kept; beds and linens are very comfortable. Location cannot be beat; the Inn is centrally located above the Cotton Club although above the club noise is not an issue. The Inn is difficult to locate so make note of the Cotton club, when trying to find. The hidden location gives the feel you are staying in a private apartment. Our next visit to Amsterdam we will be sure to stay at Inn Old Amsterdam.

Only warning the stairs and steep and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emannh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Artist House Apartments
Artist House Apartments
#24 of 221 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#17 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#33 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#21 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn old Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn old Amsterdam

Property: Inn old Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwmarkt 5, 1011 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Old Amsterdam is located in an historical monument full of character (1645) on the Nieuwmarkt, a vibrant residential quarter with bars, restaurants and outdoor cafes. Our house looks out onto the most important gate of the city of Amsterdam (1488), the Sint Anthonispoort, now known as De Waag.For our guests we have fitted up a comfortable room with a kitchenette on the first floor, and a large studio with private bathroom, toilet and kitchen on the second floor.Just as in the past, the city gate is a good base from which to visit the historic centre, the many attractions, festivals, festivities and shows in Amsterdam. Nearly all at walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing