We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Van Hoeck

Van Hoeck
Ranked #1,678 of 3,897 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

First restaurant we visited in Amsterdam and it left us with a positive view of the city. The food was excellent and the service very good. I definitely will be trying the recipe at home.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenhockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local, laid back and friendly”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

On a warm summer's evening this neighborhood restaurant was relaxing and pleasant to sit at. The deserts stood out for being well priced and excellent!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petemusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesmahagow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Imagination and Creativity on a plate!”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Tucked away near De Pijp, just past the Rijksmuseum is De 3 Vrienden. Originally founded by three business partners, and part of a chain, the Amsterdam location is now free of the franchise and owned by 2 friends! The ambience is lovely: candlelit tables are all different and rustic. The interior is dimly lit, warm and old - adding a real sense of intimacy. The dishes are small, but you can ask for the larger option. The wine list is small, but has some excellent wines on it. We plumped for the sampler menu, which is 6 courses. Goat's cheese with grilled pepper and almonds; chopped snails with courgette, thyme and cream; clear chicken broth with sherry and pheasant; salmon with lemon leaves, soy and a seaweed pickle; slow-cooked veal with beans and a mustard mash; three chocolate ice creams with a thin cookie and salt.

This came to 32.50 each, but my partner couldn't manage it all, so didn't touch the veal and didn't want dessert. They reduced the bill considerably! With a good wine, armagnac and coffee, the bill was 79 Euros.

The staff were friendly and obviously proud of their food. They upped the prices since starting to source high quality produce.

I seldom see such a distinctive menu, and rarely is such a menu served without pretensions, let alone with the highly friendly ambience provided by De 3 Vrienden. I've read a review criticising the food and the portions - while I can only say that the day we were there the food was exquisite (really) - I can see where people might be thrown by the portions. However it's not the place to go if you're used to giant, American-style portions (sadly in the UK too now). Go there for a taste experience, eat slowly and you will fill up! For a pig-out, there is the Hard Rock Cafe across the canal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StanleyAggeridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Kisco
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Off-the beaten path find”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Near the Museumplein, on the edge of de Pijp this neighborhood restaurant offers only small plates, so you can taste more dishes. With so many intriguing offerings, it's an agreeable plan.

Lots of locals, and very tasty food. Too cold and rainy to eat outside but I'll bet it's lovely in warmer weather.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank lightdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood spot”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We recently enjoyed a nice dinner with another couple at 3 Vrienden. The portions are a bit smaller compared to "regular entrees", but the food was good and we would return again. Despite the smaller portions, I did not feel hungry after...instead pleasantly full and not stuffed. The service---which can be very hit or miss in Amsterdam---was very friendly.

We started with the french onion soup which had a twist. The had cheese balls in the soup instead of the melted gruyere on top. I had the steak with veggies which was the perfect size (for a female) and a bowl of frites on the side (large enough to share with others) and my boyfriend ordered the duck. Both entrees where well prepared. We also ordered a side green salad which was large enough to share with our friends. After cleaning our plates, we had no room for dessert!

The restaurant is very casual and we found it to be cozy and nice for a weekday dinner with friends. We are temporarily living in Amsterdam and plan to return to try and few of the other items on the menu...especially when the weather warms up and we can dine outdoors.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onthego2009Manhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Hoeck also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Hoeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing