We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good steaks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Dorado

Toro Dorado
Spuistraat 3C-D, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 20 421 8695
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 3,335 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $15 - $220
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Great Steaks & Seafood in a cozy unpretentious atmosphere which yet embraces comfort and great food in the ancient city center of Amsterdam The Netherlands.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Went to Toro Dorado for a first time after having heard many good stories. Everything from the starters to the steaks were absolutely great! Service is very kind and friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    214
    71
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Rib Eye”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

A work colleague and I stopped off for some red meat and were not disappointed , the range of steaks and prices is quite jaw dropping but when we settled on the inexpensive New Zealand Rib Eye 250 gram for around €20 we hoped that by choosing a lower price point we would not be let down with lower quality, but the Rib Eye was excellent, juicy and cooked to a perfect temperature (Medium for myself, and Medium Well for my colleague) we paired the steaks with garlic spinach & chips (French Fries) and a glass of Cab Sav. Service was ok, there were a number of large parties so that must be factored in, also we sat outside which in early April requires a jacket

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I'm a regular customer in this restaurant as I usually visit Amsterdam once a year and I must have at least one meal there. I've rated it on TA on Aug. 2013 as best steak in town. I went there in Feb. 2014 and I was very disappointed service was slow owner and stuff were VERY unhelpful and food was not the same our meat was over cooked. I will not go there again due to the behavior of manager and stuff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mayssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were due to eat at another restaurant that was closed due to electrical problems, so this place was recommended by the Concierge of the Crowne Plaza hotel, just across the road. We were celebrating a birthday, so decided to splash out. Although some of the steaks are very expensive, there are plenty of options at around 30-40 euros - we both had scallops for starters, followed by steaks, and I had lobster too. The service was great, very prompt and informal - I had chips and a bottle of tomato sauce appeared without asking - they know the tastes of their customers!. We shared a bottle of good wine and they present us with a birthday candle and sang 'Happy Birthday' which really topped off a great evening. We would definitely visit again - and might save up for the really special steaks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spml13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A steak to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

the finest and healthiest Quality Steaks in Amsterdam!
order the Kobe beef and enjoy!
a bit pricey but definitely worth the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Dorado also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Toro Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing