We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mood is guarenteed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tara

The Tara
Ranked #1,860 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Gastropub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: The Tara is an International pub, where you can have a drink at one of the beautiful bars or lounge on a sofa near the fireplace . Watch sports or play pool or to eat a tasty meal. It is also possible to reservate for larger groups.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Perfect mood is guarenteed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were in this restaurant in early May. We were very tired after the whole day in Amsterdam and we wanted to have a dinner near our hotel. We didn't make a mistake when we chose this place.
Service is perfect. Our waitress was really friendly and she could tell us about the dishes. While we were waiting our meal, the restaurant's owner was communicating with us. It was good impression because he's a really positive person.
So what about food? We were with child and sometimes it was really difficult to choose some food for her but there wasn't such problem here. We were satisfied our dinner. All food was delicious.
I would like to visit this restaurant again when I will be in Amsterdam!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    91
    48
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
118 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant-Bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We came by this place just by walking in the corner streets of the area. The service was good and the atmosphere very nice.

We ordered steak tartar, ravioli with asparagus and tasty lamb stew. All were absolutely delicious. Served with fries and mayo - which was awesome.

Very recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deepwater_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just another pub, nothing really special about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Not really an Irish pub, but still a nice place with unusual atmosphere. It´s a big place, so it may get very busy and noisy. It´s fine if you go for a dring and possibly watch a sport event on their big plasmas. Not so good if you´re looking for a dinner and chat. As for the food – great fish and chips, big portion and very tasty. On the other hand, Ceasar salad was a disaster, not even close how it is supposed to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul Province, Turkey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The taste and feel of Dublin in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Talk about atmosphere! Friendly, cheerful service. A variety of cozy corners to eat, drink or relax in. Every little section has it's own authentic look feel and charm. And it would seem a lot of Irish tourists and Ex-pats have claimed it as a home away from home. I can certainly see why. For one thing the mostly meat, fish and potato meals come in hearty portions and they are all pretty tasty!
I have eaten the best steak dinner in the city in the Tara. You can also treat yourself to fresh oysters on the half shell, sip some of the finest whiskeys or beers on tap..[and in the winter there is a wonderful open hearth to warm your feet by]. Everytime I find myself in the city's theater district I find myself stopping in to the Tara, even if only for a quick draft at the bar, just to soak in the atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Eclectic Irish Themed Pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Situated close to the centre of the city along the Rokin one comes upon the ubiquitos irish pub.Atmosphere is welcoming and the decor ranges from high church to the decidedly secular.Gets very crowded at the weekend and gather from dutch friends that it is a very popular meeting place.Medicore menu in my view but definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bader54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tara also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing