We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ok, but pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gauchos - Spuistraat

Gauchos - Spuistraat
Ranked #136 of 3,371 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $68
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Gauchos in the Spuistraat is a modern grill restaurant in the center of Amsterdam. Casual overseer, "Latin Heat" and an extensive menu original meat and fish dishes from the grill.Excellent opportunity for private dinners and large groups.Located close to the Central Station and the parking is in front (garage De Kolk)Gauchos Spuistraat is open 7 days a week from 17:00.
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok, but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

There are several restaurants in Amsterdam in this chain and, in my opinion, this one is the best. Steak was OK, nothing special, but at the top end of the price range for the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evans1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    103
    37
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Steak was somehow.. very plain.
Meat was lacking flavour
Side dishes very similar

Dessert - was ok - extremely sweet leche

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatAndAngelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place for steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We sat on the terrace and enjoyed a great dinner. I had been missing a good steak and knew that Gaucho's was one place that I was assured of a great tasting steak - and they did not disappoint! Great food, good value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mswiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glad we called in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a great meal here on a whim, a little bit on the expensive side for what we had but then again we were right in the centre of the city just away from Dam Square, we both had the Saint Maarten (Chicken and Ribs Combo), well cooked and very tasty, the house red wasn't great but the Caipiranhas and the service were!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wildandloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've been to this restaurant quite a few times now (and my husband far more times than me) and I/we have NEVER had anything but an excellent steak - the prices may not be the cheapest but I'm pretty sure they're not the most expensive either - in this case you get what you pay for, great food and excellent service (always). I must admit our last visit was not the most peaceful as a rather large, rather noisy stag party arrived just after we'd ordered our food - however they were good natured and didn't interfere with anyone else (apart from noise levels) thus we enjoyed our meal as much as ever.................keep up the good work Gaucho's

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ispeaktheblondetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauchos - Spuistraat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gauchos - Spuistraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing