We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but pricey.”

Gauchos - Spuistraat
Reserve with
Gauchos - Spuistraat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #145 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $68
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Gauchos in the Spuistraat is a modern grill restaurant in the center of Amsterdam. Casual overseer, "Latin Heat" and an extensive menu original meat and fish dishes from the grill.Excellent opportunity for private dinners and large groups.Located close to the Central Station and the parking is in front (garage De Kolk)Gauchos Spuistraat is open 7 days a week from 17:00.
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok, but pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

There are several restaurants in Amsterdam in this chain and, in my opinion, this one is the best. Steak was OK, nothing special, but at the top end of the price range for the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evans1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    136
    46
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Steak was somehow.. very plain.
Meat was lacking flavour
Side dishes very similar

Dessert - was ok - extremely sweet leche

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatAndAngelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place for steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We sat on the terrace and enjoyed a great dinner. I had been missing a good steak and knew that Gaucho's was one place that I was assured of a great tasting steak - and they did not disappoint! Great food, good value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mswiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glad we called in!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a great meal here on a whim, a little bit on the expensive side for what we had but then again we were right in the centre of the city just away from Dam Square, we both had the Saint Maarten (Chicken and Ribs Combo), well cooked and very tasty, the house red wasn't great but the Caipiranhas and the service were!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wildandloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've been to this restaurant quite a few times now (and my husband far more times than me) and I/we have NEVER had anything but an excellent steak - the prices may not be the cheapest but I'm pretty sure they're not the most expensive either - in this case you get what you pay for, great food and excellent service (always). I must admit our last visit was not the most peaceful as a rather large, rather noisy stag party arrived just after we'd ordered our food - however they were good natured and didn't interfere with anyone else (apart from noise levels) thus we enjoyed our meal as much as ever.................keep up the good work Gaucho's

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ispeaktheblondetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauchos - Spuistraat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gauchos - Spuistraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing