We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Succulence and quality”
Review of Gauchos - MOVED - MOVED

Gauchos - MOVED
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Teddington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Succulence and quality”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I’ve been to Amsterdam numerous times and have sampled all kinds of food and restaurants in that amazing city – but never a steakhouse-style place. Until now. And boy, did Gauchos deliver the goods! Probably the tastiest, most succulent steaks my partner and I have ever eaten, accompanied by Hoegaarden beer (for him) and house red (for me). An outstanding main course, cooked medium-rare exactly to order; for me, quite an eye-opener. We left after an unhurried evening, very contented.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    66
    6
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just what you expect from Gauchos - superb steaks!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had seen lots of Argentinian restaurants around Amsterdam which prompted our craving for steaks. Our guidebook reminded us of Gauchos (we go to the one in London so we know we'd get a great steak here).

Our waitress showed us the steaks that they have to offer and explained the differences. She was very chatty and friendly. Our steaks arrived and each one done to perfection. The chimichurri sauce was delicious and we also ordered the pepper sauce which had a nice heat to it. We also had the French fries with garlic & parsley sauce/dressing which was tasty but not enough (that was the only criticism).

The kitchen was understaffed and the restaurant managers had to step in to help but they still produced great food.

We had the 3 chocolate dessert and strawberry with chocolate sauce, icecream & whipped cream which my niece was very disappointed it only had 2 small strawberries (we felt this was very mean portion).

Altogether we enjoyed our meal and was looked after well by the staff.

Helpful?
Thank E-traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chatham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went in here on the off chance and was really suprprised! Had avoided this restuarant on acciount of the touting for trade as this puts me off. However, humble pie eaten! It was so much better than expected. The steak was divine and cooked to prefection and a joy to be able to have a baked potato as opposed to chips!. Service friendly,unhurried and attentive in an unobtrusive way. There are hunrdeds of steak houses in the city and this is one that is worthy of a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 53WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, great time”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Been to this resturant twice, both times the service and food was very good, next time i will book a table further ino the resturant as i always seem to be close to the door probably becasue i never book. Plan on going again this year as i will be traveling on holiday with the family.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnLichfield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent steak!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

After being deprived of steak for a few months, this place was recommended to my by Hotel Aalders. I was NOT disappointed. Attentive staff, stylish decor and excellent food! My steak was cooked to perfection as was the baked potato.
I got the three course special and it was well worth the value.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Microgirlca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauchos - MOVED also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing