We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pioneer restaurant, great ambiance, good value”

Hotel de Goudfazant
Ranked #207 of 3,953 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $92
Cuisines: French, Fusion
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pioneer restaurant, great ambiance, good value”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a pioneer restaurant in the north of Amsterdam. Owners have a lot of heart for their guests, food and this part of town, that had a bad rep until a few years ago.
Please make the effort to cross the water and enjoy a fantastic meal!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonpie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    148
    26
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing spot; amazing food quality”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We invited our foreign friends for a surprise dinner. After a tour through industrial outskirts on the northern side of the IJ, we landed along the riverbanks on an empty platform.Only the modest sign Hotel de Goudfazant showed some life and light. To our surprise the place was practically full with dining people. And with ancient cars. How in God's name do people find this place? The simple answer is: 1. excellent food and 2. excellent staff. The atmosphere is both professional and casual, the food is delicious and definitely worth its price. We had a great time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monica-jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What else can one ask for...absolutely the Best food and service in Amsterdam”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We arrived rather late to Amsterdam, settled in our hotel when my boys wanted something special. According to locals this was something different... We were greeted with an announcement that "the kitchen closed half an hour ago ". Ooops, we took some time to find it as location is not the easiest for a novis. A few minutes later the manager returned and told us they might just see what can be done. we set down and wonderful food kept coming!!!!
We all were gobsmacked- tasty, delicious, mouth watering beautifully presented food.
still raving about it.
we loved:
-food,
-presentation,
-service,
-hospitality,
- deco,
in summary, everything.
Recommend to everyone!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brizos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lot of food you get for your money!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Its a bit out of the centre and service could absolutely be better, but depends on the evening. Price wise best food in town! I keep on going back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lietsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the taxi trip out of Amsterdam city centre”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great service, amazing location, good recommendations, wholesome and filling food. Perfect for a dinner with friends/girlfriend/travelling companions. Make sure you have a reservation, and allow 20-30 euro cab fare each way.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel de Goudfazant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hotel de Goudfazant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing