We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vondelpark Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Vondelpark Suites
Save
You added The Vondelpark Suites to your Saves list
Vondelkerkstraat 12, 1054 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 326 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely and comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in The Vondelpark Suites (the east room) for 3 nights and it was really very pleasant! You can expect everything you see in the photos at its website. The room and the bathroom are clean, fully equipped kitchen and the breakfast is served directly in the room which is also super. Maybe if you are used to sleeping at a harder bed you will be suprised by soft mattress, but it is a small detail. It is a comfortable accommodation with friendly and family atmosphere in a calm street directly at the Vondelpark. Tram number 1 which goes through the centre of Amsterdam (about 5 stops/10minutes) is also very near (1-2 minutes). In a case you want to take a dinner outside few restaurants are also close. I would definitely recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: The east room is very nice, spacious, with a nice view and with a small lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped with en-suite bathroom. Generous breakfast and our host, Els, was friendly and very helpful. Central location with the vondel-park at the end of the street and tram stop at the other end of the street.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hofgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at the Vondelpark Suites for 3 nights in April 2012, 2 adults and 1 child. There was plenty of room - the suite has very high ceilings with 2 twin beds pushed together and a futon couch that turns into a bed. Also there is a small TV, eating table with chairs, a kitchenette with everything including cooktop, microwave, mini-fridge and sink. Coffee maker and hot water pot are also provided. The bathroom has a nice shower, plenty of towels and hairdryer. This was a great location - VERY close to the tram stop and if you want to walk - the park is steps away and makes for a beautiful stroll into the city. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine and yummy chocolate marshmallow treats.

A couple notes about the apartment - the stairs to the 2nd floor where the apartment is located are VERY steep and narrow, a bit shocking at first. (Els, the proprietor carried our massive suitcase up for us, I felt horrible for her lugging it up those stairs!) I would also suggest to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper - there are tenants that live upstairs on the 3rd floor that can be heard and because the windows are so large, there is a lot of street noise that filters through.

There really is no parking, and the street is one way - to a dead end. There is only one way in, and you must reverse the car out of the street onto the main road to get out. Tricky.... We parked our car at a public lot about 10 minutes away. We opted to not have breakfast included - there is a nice bakery right across the street. 2 blocks away is the grocery store and there are numerous little eateries in the area. Els had a nice selection of English movies on DVD, which was great for our daughter - age 3 - she watched Ratatouille numerous times.

This was a great place for the price and I would highly recommend the suites to a couple, or a small family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clouisep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We've spent 5 days with two kids; Our host Els was helpful with tips from the very beggining (as we came from Eindhoven airport) so after taking tram 1 at Central station (needed approx. 15 min.) to get to this nice, petit, quiet street few steps from Vondel park. East room is comfortable, well equipped small kitchen, (fridge, coffee maker, etc.) clean bath ( plenty of towels for all of us) lots of maps & useful tourists books. Breakfast was definitely "worth buying" delivered tp your door, fresh orange juice+ fruits, musli, milk, hot croissants, cheese, butter, ham, salamy & each day just a little different. Half an hour walk passing through Vondel park gets you to the heart of the city. Our kids enjoyed too

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nenad m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Vondelpark Suites. We were there with a group of four friends so we had the place to our selves. Els is an amazing host, very helpful and informative. The en-suite rooms are very clean and comfortable. Large variety of food for breakfast is available. There are lots of books & maps for guests to use. Location is good with tram (number 1)stops outside and Vondelpark. There is also free Wi-Fi which worked very well.
Would definitely recommend this place.
If you are taking taxi from airport to get there, cost should be approx 35 Euros and make sure the meter is on. (We had been overcharged)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisutram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Located in a very quiet side street, right by the Vodel Park, and very good tram service to the centre (also walking distance to central Amsterdam - about 20 minutes walk).

The room was comfortable, good sized and decently furnished, with a small kitchen and very clean bathroom, well-appointed if a bit small.
The breakfast was good (very fresh rolls/croissants, yoghurts, fruit, cheese & ham) and our own espresso-style coffee machine in the kitchen so we could keep any left-over breakfast for a snack later with fresh coffee!
The only (slight) criticism is that the furniture is somewhat basic and the television could do with up-dating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orcherdgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I highly recommend Vondelpark Suites. The location is perfect, not too far from the center of things but quiet and not in the midst of the hubbub. The tram number 1, half a block away, takes you in just a few minutes to the heart of the city. The park itself, half a block away, is lovely, with ponds and little lakes. The room was really nice, decorated with cool little touches and exotic objects, and it has kitchen facilities too. The owner is very friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#100 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vondelpark Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vondelpark Suites

Address: Vondelkerkstraat 12, 1054 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two private and quiet rooms very close to the Vondelpark. The rooms have private bathrooms and kitchenette and are located on the first floor. The Rijks Museum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museum are just a short walk through the Vondelpark. Shopping areas, restaurants and good public transport within reach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing