We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Vondelpark Suites
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Amsterdam
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Tire Station(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Belfort Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Apple Inn(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
14
10
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
10
1
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 26 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed for 7 nights with a young family.
4 beds in a room which were comfortable, but not much room to do anything else. However, you would not stay in your room if you are in amsterdam for a week. Very near the tram, so you would be in the city centre in 15 minutes.
Supermarket very near, kebab and indian restaurants very near.
Attached kitchennete, did not use much.
Breakfasts could be a lot better. Although we were four, but it appeared that the breakfast was for two( two cereal packs every day...and none after public holiday...If I was running a b and b, then I would certainly stock up).
Very near vondelpark...a very good place to spend half a day.
Do I regret staying there: No
Will I stay there again: No
Is the price reasonable: No doubt about it. 700 for 4 people for 7 days...cannot beat this.
Was it quiet: Yes
Will I recommend it: yes, if you want a cheap and a decent place.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank BelfastLampost66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This Bed & Breakfast is a terrific deal if you want to relax, and enjoy more of Amsterdam than the tourist sections along the Damrak.

The house has three stories, with the two guest rooms on the second floor - the host family on the first & third. You come & go as you like, and the location is literally adjacent to the entrance of the Vondelpark - a beautiful park that many Dutch use to run, walk their dogs, relax. Gorgeous during the summer! The host family was very amicable & the breakfast provided each morning was certainly more than I expected! The kitchenettes have coffee & tea at your disposal - the breakfast consisted of croissants, rolls, butter, cocoa, cereal, milk, yogurt & juice. If that's not enough for you - there are local cafes & a Dutch supermarket a few blocks down. The kitchenette has absolutely everything you could need to cook, if you wanted. We stayed in the West Room (see website) and it was huge.

For the price you pay (compared to a hotel closer to the main train station), this was a superb deal. We had just arrived from Paris, where the hotel/price ratio was simply abyssmal, and stayed in a tiny room with infant-sized beds. In comparison, this room was very large with one queen & one full size beds, two closets, multiple updated Amsterdam guidebooks, complimentary maps, and a modest sized tv with dvds (but are you really there to watch tv all day??)

The downsides to the Vondelpark B&B are simple, and relative to the goals of your trip. it is NOT in the middle of the Damrak, nor the Red Light District, so if your plans are to go take advantage of that part of the culture - dont stay here. This is not for you. That being said, the tram line stop is literally 50 feet from the front door, the wait was never longer than 30 min (pick up a schedule, and you can see when the tram will stop) and impressively punctual. My brother and I were still able to catch a tram into Damrak to hit a pub, and if needed, a 15 dollar cabride home worked just fine. The other issue is that one bed was extremely confortable while the other was a futon, and although still provided a good night's sleep - it is obviously not preferred to the mattress queen (my brother & I simply rotated every night).

If you are looking to relax a bit more, enjoy the casual culture of the city & its people, with very light, easy, beautiful walks to the nearby Museumplein (Van Gogh & Riiksmuseum - big Rembrandt action), then you need to consider this place. The nights were quiet, deep sleeping with no loud ambient noise and No ambient light blazing into the windows.

I have traveled to 15 European countries, and frankly - I cant complain one bit about this B&B, and would easily stay there again - especially with a significant other, for a more relaxing trip to Amsterdam. If you want to party and get baked every night, go stay closer to the Red Light District. Dont take advantage of the hospitality of this B&B.
Ultimately, this place is really quite perfect for enjoying all the city has to offer, particularly easy to travel to the major tourist attractions, and still close enough to enjoy the nightlife.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbarriento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The park nearby was wonderful but the facilities are not all they are cracked up to be. We were hoping for a romantic get away, this was far from it. Breakfast was also a rip off but we didn't have high expectations for that either.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg_Kessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevondelparksuites, owner at The Vondelpark Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Unfortunately someone else also calles him or herself Vondelpark Suites. Seeing that I do not recognize your name I fear you stayed in the other B&B. If you visit Amsterdam again I can assure you that with us you will find you get great value for money. To other travellers: We are not listed on bookings or Venere, try Avvie or the officila website. Sorry that you had a bad experience....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I was a member of a small group of friends that went to Amsterdam on the first week of our easter vacations (26 March to 2 April). After a long journey in planes and airports we just wanted to have "the place" where we could rest. Well the rooms are just great! Better than much hotels nearby, all the 6 of us were very happy and we just couldn´t wait to get the most out of the trip. One little detail is related to the beds, just AWSOME! It feels like you are laying on a fluffy cloud, specially after the cold felt outside. The host, Mrs Sprangers is very nice and gentle. She does the most delicious breakfasts, and she was very kind when she offered a cake for the birthday of one of us.
We all would, without any doubts, stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikyr9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

A lovely and spacious studio room with en suite shower room + lots of towels. We stayed with my young daughter. We had two double beds and there was plenty of space. DVDs, guidebooks, colouring books were available for our use. The room (garden side) was well laid out and furnished - mostly IKEA furnishings. Breakfasts were good. Although do ask for extra milk if you like milky coffee. There is a coffee machine in the kitchenette.

The curtains do not have black out lining but it did not affect our sleep too much.

I would definitely stay here again. Very close to Vondelpark and there is a tram into the centre which takes about 10 -15 mins.

Bike hire is about 2 tram stops away and is highly recommended. There is a supermarket and neighbourhood restaurants are close by.

This would make a very good base out of the general madness of Central Amsterdam. The park is literally seconds away.

The owner is very helpful and lives above and below the rooms with her teenage family.

We very much enjoyed our stay - much better value than a poky hotel room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OohMsJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews