We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Chef's Selection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Pas - CLOSED

Te Pas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: On the 11th February 2006, Restaurant Te Pas was opened by its founders, the brothers Evert and Hugo Te Pas, who offer a primarily French menu that has been infused with a few international influences. With one in the kitchen and the other in the restaurant, they have created a professional but relaxed atmosphere. As this restaurant is situated near the Leidsche Plein and the Museumplein, it is an ideal place for you to combine your dinner with a visit to the theatre, the Concertgebouw, the Rijksmuseum or the Van Gogh Museum.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Chef's Selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a delicious and intimate dinner here for six. Started with some great white wine, and then chose to have the Chef's Surprise Tasting Menu. It started with some warm bread, and complimentary mussels. Yum. The first course contained a small salad, grilled octopus with caviar and spaghetti with beef tartar. My favorite was the octopus, which was absolutely delicious. The main course was a roasted meet with mushrooms and some sort of delicious sauce. Dessert was a seasonal mousse-like cake with a graham cracker like bottom.

The service was great and everyone loved their food! I highly recommend to all in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, professional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We loved our visit to restaurant Te Pas! The location is great, in the center of Amsterdam, and offers better food than all the big tourist attractions. Very tasty food with great presentation and service is excellent; professional and attentive! Loved the wine list too. Don't mis Te Pas for a romantic dinner on the canals of Amsterdam!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tiggeroony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice small restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hi,

We found that restaurant from reviews in TA.
Very friendly staff and tasty cuisine. I tried the 3 course surprise menu, and my wife made her own choice. We also choose our wine ourselves.
The main shortcoming of the restaurant is the wine menu, which is quite spartan. And apart from the housewein, you have to order a whole bottle.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alpha2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had the four course taster menu and it was fantastic. My girlfriend ordered a la carte which wsa equally as good but without the same personal touch. Chef brought out each dish and gave an overview which was great. Away from the crowds and by far the best meal we had in amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tom g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“We found a lovely little treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Found it, been there and loved it! What a great place to be. Both brothers and staf are very passionated about food. And that's what you're going to find on your plate (and in your glass).

We are great fans of restaurant Blok's in Amersfoort, even before they received their Michelin star last year. At Te Pas we had a déjà vu with Blok's in our head. And you get real value for money at Te Pas!

After our after diner drink at the Leidseplein when walking back to our hotel we passed Te Pas once more. Evert was just about to leave when he spotted us and asked us of we had a pleasant drink afterwards. Very sympathetic.

We'll be back on our next visit to Amsterdam.

Helpful?
Thank Riesjaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Pas also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing