We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and Great ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Spelt

Restaurant Spelt
Reserve with
Restaurant Spelt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #363 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Central European, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food and Great ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I love the food they serve at spelt. It looks Very Nice and it taste delicious. The dishes and wines have good prices. The staff is nice and friendly. Sure would love to eat here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    71
    11
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Esher, England
Level Contributor
164 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great for a light lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Came across Spelt when looking for somewhere for a snack lunch. A small and busy place, but luckily we got a table straight away in a nice corner looking onto a pleasant garden courtyard. Sandwich, croque monsieur and a couple of beers nicely served up and good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply Delicous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I happened on this restaurant while wandering through the city looking for a dinner spot. I was drawn to the simple modern decor and the excellent choices on the menu. The menu was fairly small but featured several excellent choices. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. My dinner was a simple fish dish but it was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys a high quality meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mszs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful serendipity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Happened along this sweet little spot on the way to the museums. The food was really imaginative, fresh, and as tasty as it were healthy. Janneke, our server, was sincere and extremely pleasant, and she couldn't have been more genuinely Dutch. If it had not been our last day in the city, we would have come back this trip.
Beet risotto, and the most inventive chef salad, and a half liter of Chablis impressed and wowed us, as the chef made some usually mundane bites special.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank caryva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food, well executed, heavenly krupuks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Found Spelt last March during a previous visit, and liked it enough to go back this visit. We reserved a table, since the place is not large. When we came in Bruce, one of the young chefs, asked us if we hadn't been in some time ago, he even remembered the table we had sat at! A good start! Next came the goat cheese krupuks, they are heavenly! Just like in March we loved our food, gluten-free cheerfully accommodated. The mustard soup is heavenly. Everything was executed well, the waitress inquired about plans for after the meal (we were early due to a concert at the concertgebouw later) to make sure we would be done with our meal in time. We were not feeling hurried, yet were ready to leave at the right time. Great meal!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Spelt also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Spelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing