We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful serendipity”
Review of Restaurant Spelt

Restaurant Spelt
Reserve with
Restaurant Spelt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #382 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $39
Cuisines: Dutch, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Blacksburg VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful serendipity”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Happened along this sweet little spot on the way to the museums. The food was really imaginative, fresh, and as tasty as it were healthy. Janneke, our server, was sincere and extremely pleasant, and she couldn't have been more genuinely Dutch. If it had not been our last day in the city, we would have come back this trip.
Beet risotto, and the most inventive chef salad, and a half liter of Chablis impressed and wowed us, as the chef made some usually mundane bites special.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank caryva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    73
    11
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food, well executed, heavenly krupuks!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Found Spelt last March during a previous visit, and liked it enough to go back this visit. We reserved a table, since the place is not large. When we came in Bruce, one of the young chefs, asked us if we hadn't been in some time ago, he even remembered the table we had sat at! A good start! Next came the goat cheese krupuks, they are heavenly! Just like in March we loved our food, gluten-free cheerfully accommodated. The mustard soup is heavenly. Everything was executed well, the waitress inquired about plans for after the meal (we were early due to a concert at the concertgebouw later) to make sure we would be done with our meal in time. We were not feeling hurried, yet were ready to leave at the right time. Great meal!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“nothing special, cramped for large parties, don't miss the desert”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a large business dinner and we were cramped in the small space and it ended up getting quite warm as well. And with the long, narrow table it was difficult to have a conversation with the entire group. Food was ok, but service was slow and the time between courses was too long. The highlight of the meal was the desert - I had their 'chocolate' selection and it was one of the best deserts I've ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chipdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stumbled across this by chance walking back from the Rijksmuseum. While looking at the menu a very helpful waitress came out and explained the 'restaurant week' special offer so we booked for the evening. Food was superbly cooked and elegantly presented. Staff very helpful and one of our party who had to have dairy-free food was readily accommodated. Only a few choices on the menu and all excellent (good vegetarian options as well). Price very reasonable for the quality of food. Liked it so much we went back again two days later and it was still just as good. Booking probably essential for the evenings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dont Miss!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My partner and I came across Spelt while we were staying in Amsterdam for 3 days and actually went there twice because we liked it so much!

Their bread was the best and freshiest I have ever tasted. I really liked the food here and it was a cute little place with very friendly staff. Highly recommend for a little lunch while in Amsterdam!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Spelt also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Spelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing