We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky pancake house”
Review of Upstairs pancakes

Upstairs pancakes
Ranked #2 of 106 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Colchester
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Quirky pancake house”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I like finding quirky little places whenever I visit somewhere and this was definitely one of them. Upstairs is a very fitting name as it is up a very steep flight of steps. When at the top you enter a small room with a lovely atmosphere and interesting decor with the hanging teapots. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janine_hallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    127
    19
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very tasty! The service wasn't so good”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

It was very good and unique, the restaurant looks very cute and the pancakes were amazing. I ordered the special of strawberry, sugar powder and home made cream. There was only one problem - the service. We haven't even ordered a bill and we got it, the waiter wasn't nice at all...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yalro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best pancakes!!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The place is so cute and the pancakes were delicious. I ordered the day's special which happened to be the strawberry/banana/chocolate sauce pancake while my sister ordered the Bacon pancake. The Bacon pancake was superb, the bacon was cooked into the pancake and was still crispy. I would highly recommend it. We ended up splitting our pancakes to get a taste of savory and sweet. Service is pretty fast, we had our food within 15 minutes and out the door in 30. We asked our hotel reception to make a reservation for us and it since there are only 4 tables, you really need one especially during peak season. Don't be afraid of the stairs, just climb it one at a time and walk up sideways.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mlim20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
1 review
“Delicious and unique”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent pancakes! We went in the middle of the week around 17:00 and got a seat with no reservations. Went back a second time and weren't as lucky. People were waiting to get in. The climb up the stairs is more like walking up a ladder but the steep climb was well worth the food. A very unique experience with the stair climb and quaint little room with hanging teapots. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Amsterdam. We ordered the ham and cheese pancake and the chocolate pancake and split them between two of us. They had a wide selection and I doubt you would go wrong with any of the selections. We will visit this spot again when we return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeinseCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute little place”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

After recommendations from friends we booked for a Sunday pancake lunch. Well worth the climb. The ceiling is covered with tea pots in every shape and size. The cheese and bacon pancake was very good. Hubby loved the apple one. Couldn't go wrong with my lemon and sugar one. And the juices and coffees were lovely too! Just watch out for the stairs!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluehousemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs pancakes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Upstairs pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing