We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite Indian restaurant in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh-i-Noor

Koh-i-Noor
Ranked #69 of 3,332 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Free wi-fi in both retsuarants . 1. Westermarkt 29.1016 Dj. Amsterdam.2. Rokin 18. 1012 Kr amsterdam.
Strand, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favourite Indian restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Love love love this place and the waiters are super cool.

Fantastic food but go early or book.

This is our favourite restaurant and we cannot wait to return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariehette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    391
    88
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The best Indian food since India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Came here to celebrate some good news with my girlfriend. The service is miles ahead of Dutch standards. Waiters were courteous and charming. The food is truly excellent, and many of the accompaniments were complimentary. Came out at under 50 eurobucks, which is amazing for how much amazing food we had, and how much we drank. I can't say enough about how sweet this place is. Sits at the top of my Amsterdam list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CritterBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had ordered delivery food from Kohinoor twice in the past 3 months. Even though we are Indian, and cook most of the stuff we like at home, there are still dishes like naan and tandoori that cant be made at home and on one such occasion we decided to order from Kohinoor. Of the dishes we ordered, we loved the panner and butter chicken, tandoori and naan were good too. The person who took our order on the phone, after realizing that it was our first time, offered a tasting of a panner dish as we were confused among two dishes, which was a nice gesture!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dhanyababu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ate here after searching trip advisor for places to eat.. This restaurant did not disappoint! It was busy when we arrived with no booking, but asked to eat in a hour, no problem.
Food was well cooked, delicious, and plentiful! We could not finish the huge portions and declined dessert even though it came free with our 'set menu'
Would eat here again for sure... But avoid the funny bowl of 'sprinkles' at the end!! ;)

My only negative would be a slight lack of service when busy ( and it's so good it's always busy!) .. Meant long waits between getting plates cleared, ordering next part, paying bill etc.. But overall, worth the wait !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Portions near Dam Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The two of us weren't sure on what to get due to the extensive menu, so we just went with the Koh-i-Noor special. I couldn't begin to explain some of the sauces and seasonings that were used, but the final product was phenomenal. As long as you're up for trying new things, this place surely won't disappoint.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeGallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh-i-Noor also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koh-i-Noor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing