We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great for groups...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koh-i-Noor

Koh-i-Noor
Ranked #66 of 3,377 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Free wi-fi in both retsuarants . 1. Westermarkt 29.1016 Dj. Amsterdam.2. Rokin 18. 1012 Kr amsterdam.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for groups...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

If a bunch of friends are having a drink and decide to turn it into dinner, Koh-i-noor is one of the places I usually take them. The food is good and fast, they have good options for vegans and vegetarians, and are good at finding a range of dishes that kids and adults can share if you like eating "family style".

I wouldn't say it's the spiciest in town, but it's consistently good and reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    399
    88
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian rood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I think this is one of the best Indian restaurants in Amsterdam. The staff are very friendly and polite and the food is really good. It's always very busy and has a nice atmosphere. I would highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mama”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My mother just loves this place and the food, she goes there often. I think it is not bad till good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Staf-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Busy little Indian restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I recently went to this restaurant with some friends who had highly recommended it. I was rather disappointed with the food, there are definitely better Indian restaurants in Amsterdam. The service though was excellent and the prices were reasonable. I have to say, I would not hurry back for a return visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional Indian food in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were a spontaneous walk-in group of 5 on a Sunday night and just managed to get a table. The food was excellent, undoubtedly one of the best Indian meals we've ever had. Koh-i-noor has a very warm atmosphere, the wait staff is extremely courteous and welcoming, the food delicious, and overall the place just... feels nice. It's not cheap, but it would be difficult to find a better meal in the area of the Anne Frank Museum. That lamb vindaloo was still burning my insides the day after, but WORTH IT.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh-i-Noor also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koh-i-Noor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing