We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hard to find but well worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh-i-Noor

Koh-i-Noor
Ranked #99 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $29
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Free wi-fi in both retsuarants . 1. Westermarkt 29.1016 Dj. Amsterdam.2. Rokin 18. 1012 Kr amsterdam.
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hard to find but well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

While in Amsterdam my wife and I found this restaurant on Tripadvisor. It took us a bit of looking to find it but are we ever glad we did. We had the set lunch menu and for only 18 euro each got more food than we could finish. Good starter of soup followed by rice, chicken and lentyl. Very good food and fast, personable service!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GKimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    913
    418
    91
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
AUH
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant..maybe overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

heard that this is the restaurant for Indian food in Amsterdam. Had a lunch. We were in a hurry...

Good location.The restaurant has a pleasant décor.

It was lunch time and it was fast service. But I have the same complaint. The food tastes as it it is prepared quite awhile (see my reviews of other restaurant) and then heated up, the chicken I got seemed a bit tasteless though the gravy was OK.

On that day , unfortunately even the breads (rotis/naans ) we were served was a bit cold.

So I think it is overrated a bit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Missingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Tried this restaurant on a recent trip to Amsterdam and booked it in advance. The reviews are quite over rated to be honest. My partner and I have travelled to many different countries and this Indian was average. Large portions but curries were flavourless. Service was excellent though wouldn't rush back judging the food. I would not be fussy at all I give credit when its due but this just wasn't what it was made out to be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Large portions, reasonably priced. The food was phenomenal! I couldn't "uncheck" bar scene, but there is no bar or bar scene, this is a place to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This is the best indian restaurant in town. Curry's are awesome and the people who work there are soooo very kindly. Super night!!!!
Thank you Kohinoor !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMKR62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh-i-Noor also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koh-i-Noor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing