We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good people running it”
Review of Koh-i-Noor

Koh-i-Noor
Reserve with
Koh-i-Noor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Free wi-fi in both retsuarants . 1. Westermarkt 29.1016 Dj. Amsterdam.2. Rokin 18. 1012 Kr amsterdam.
Paris, France
1 review
“Very very good people running it”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have travelled in France, Italy , Spain, Switzerland . But this has been one of the best restaurant I have ever been. The people running them are very good. The food was very good. But the environment and humbleness is just amazing. The owner is really good , I forgot his name. Very tall Uncle but really a man of heart. But word of caution may be because of its good name there is always a huge rush!!! Maybe you should book your reservations before.This place I believe also has some records for its good work!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank durjay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    989
    455
    98
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food! Owner very engaging ”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This Indian restaurant stands out. Amazing food and service. The owner even recalled a story about a Polish customer from the 80's who could handle the vindaloo stronger than anyone he has encountered. I will be back!

Helpful?
Thank AlaniKuye
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“AUTHENTIC INDIAN CUISINE”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Being an Indian I was skeptical about being served good Indian food in Amsterdam and Kohinoor did not let me down. I was with a colleague of mine who wanted to have Indian food and this place really was fantastic. The food was good. The service though was a bit slow to start with, due to the extreme high volume of guests, kept going superbly once it started. Please book a table in advance since we were lucky to get the last available 2 seats since the hotel was packed and some who came later were politely asked to wait which is gamble. There was another group who were extremely noisy and the staff were extremely apologetic despite the fact it was not their fault and even offered us drinks on the house to make up. Such fantastic courtesy. Had a great evening

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Indian restaurant”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The best Indian food you can get in Amsterdam. Nice people, very hospitible. Excellent value for the money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iniemienie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I had better Indian food in Linz ( Austria ) and New York !!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a reservation a Saturday at 7 pm for 3 and were seated immediately....just under the counter. The service was good the beer for me and the French wine for my friends also good.
Now the food, the bread excellent......but the rest of the food average, I had much better Indian meals in Linz ( Austria ) and in New York or Los Angeles.....and of course in India.
I would not go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lahulpe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh-i-Noor also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koh-i-Noor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing