We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, pleasant staff.”
Review of Koh-i-Noor

Koh-i-Noor
Reserve with
Koh-i-Noor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Free wi-fi in both retsuarants . 1. Westermarkt 29.1016 Dj. Amsterdam.2. Rokin 18. 1012 Kr amsterdam.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely food, pleasant staff.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My sister and Iate here early one evening after a day shopping in the rain. The staff were pleasant, the food was good, we started with a couple of popadums on the house-these turned out to be the spiciest part of the meal! We then ate a mixed plate of meat starters-excellent value. My sister had the chicken tikka for her main and I had the chicken korma-they complimented each other very well. We also had a garlic nan...it was the thinnest nan I've ever seen! The portions were a good size and the meal was very tasty. We had a very pleasant evening and left thoroughly warmed through and well fed. Would eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    974
    448
    96
    24
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Indian food and wonderful service”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a great dinner for five. The food was lovely, not too spicy, but full of flavour and plenty of it (we took some leftovers in a doggy bag). The white house wine was surprisingly good. I have to give extra credits for the wonderful service. The waiters were efficient and friendly and the owner treated us like we were old friends. What a nice, warm, funny person. I will definitely visit this restaurant again and recommend it to anyone. Make sure to make a reservation (we did); the place was packed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Indian”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great service even though it was packed , food was yummy and the price was fair for huge portions , well worth a visit

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gwynedd1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect food!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I visited Koh-i-noor with my brother and his girlfriend, and ordered four vegetarian mains. All the dishes were fantastic! The taste, the prices, the service - everything just rocks here! I'd like to draw special attention to the Dal Tarka. I always order Dal Tarka if it's on the menu, and the one in this restaurant is the best I've ever had. It's spiced and cooked to perfection! Oh, and the Nan's - they're insanely awesome (we had the garlic ones). I'll be back next time I'm in Amsterdam - no doubt!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So Great!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ordered chicken tikka masala and naan. Excellent Indian food, the best I have had anywhere in Europe, and definitely better than anywhere in the U.S. Service was great too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fran622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh-i-Noor also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koh-i-Noor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing