We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Guest Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Central Guest Rooms
Save
You added Central Guest Rooms to your Saves list
Ranked #160 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Sasha's B & B was brilliant. We only stayed the one night my girlfriend and i in a lovely spacious room that had an en suite shower and a huge spacious bed.

The room is very good for those people on a budget, in the whole of central Amsterdam to have a double room with a private bathroom from my research the best prices were around 120/200 Euros not 75 which is what i paid.

In terms of location it is also ideal with a 15 minute walk on average to most of the attractions in central Amsterdam. Sasha himself was also very welcoming and accomadating. There was also a nice flat screen TV with a wide range of channels which is ideal if you have a couple of hours in the room for example before going out on an evening.

I was looking for a nice room for one night in Amsterdam at a reasonable price and Sasha's delivered, however those who like the atmoshpere, service, facilitles etc. of a proper hotel i would suggest Sasha's isn't for you. I am not sure if there was an option of breakfast, as we never asked and it was never offered to be fair, but we were more than happy sorting ourselves out.

All in all two very happy Customers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    9
    5
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Stayed here for one night. It was a bit difficult to find the entrance and there was no one there when we arrived. Had to call a number then the man came to let us in.
The room was clean, lovely bed,, flatscreen tv. Curtains let in a bit of light and the traffic from the street could be heard in the morning.Shared bathroom with the room next door. Bathroom ceiling a bit mouldy but it was modern.
Breakfast isn't provided but there is a kitchen you can use with tea and coffee provided which was really nice.
For 50 euros it was great value, and near to the centre.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We booked this B&B because it was centrally located and was on a par price-wise with most good hostels in the centre of Amsterdam. Location wise it was excellent for a short break as it was 20 mins walk from Dam Square and 10 mins walk from Rembrant Square with a tram stop right outside the front door.

However, we found that the website was not a true representation of the rooms and service provided. We booked a room with a shared bathroom going on the photographs on the website, and were rather disappointed to discover that the room we were allocated was tiny, incredibly dark and looked straight onto the main road. This is not so bad as if we had had the other room with a shared bathroom we would have been overlooking a nightclub which got quite loud on a Friday night.

The room and bathrooms, though small, were clean. However there was no cleaning service during our stay and for a change of towels an additional cost would be incurred. Only one window and light worked in our room (the others were broken) and the noise from the road was quite loud. We would not have been able to sleep with the window open if required. In addition the walls were really thin and we could hear our neighbours and could smell the smoke from the kitchen below where guests are permitted to smoke.

Although Sasha appears to be facilitating via email, in person he is rather abrupt and not on hand for questions or last minute changes to check in/out times. Though he will store your bags free of charge.

Also, the stairs going up to the rooms are extremely narrow so only bring small bags and do not consider staying here if you have trouble climbing stairs as these are particularly challenging even for the fittest!!

(A photo of our room is attached)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GandA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Nice clean place in a good location of the city, walking distance to many places including rembrandt square. However it was very small, like many other places in Amsterdam but the house keeper was professional and our place was clean with no disturbance. It is on a main street so noise from outside if you don't mind. Winding staircase.

The shower didn't have enough pressure and the sink was small, again like many other places in Amsterdam. Its a good place if you/re by yourself or girlfriend, our room wasn't big enough for 2 guys. I guess he had another room or 2 that was bigger but only thing he had available for us was the small room. This is just a place to lay your head at night or early morning depending on what you like to do. That's it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travel420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Words can not describe how bad this hotel was.

Before arrival, we were contacted by the hotel and asked to meet at a set time in light of the fact that hotel has no front desk. Unfortunately in spite of us being their on time, no one from the hotel turned up to meet us and thus were left in the street for nearly an hour until eventually a member of staff opened the door.

Following on from this we were shown to our room, which was very small consisting of just a lumpy looking bed with bedding which appeared 'used' to but it politely. Shocked by how dirty it was, we were even more shocked to discover that it was infested by mosquitos. Not just one or two, but hundreds - if not thousands. The walls were crawling with them. The gentleman who showed us to the room expressed his concern that the noise of these might keep us awake, he didn't seem too worried about the prospect of us being eaten alive. To the credit of the guy showing us the room, he did explain that the owner was out of town and that he had tried unsuccessfully to contact him. The guy then explained that if we wanted he would allow us to cancel the room without charge and find something else in the city. We took this option and checked into the IBIS. Unfortunately however it seems that the guy forgot about this conversation and still proceeded to charge our credit card. Obviously we have contacted booking.com to get this money back. Its just a shame its another hassle to have to deal with because of this appalling hotel.

Dont stay there. It is really the most awful place you could ever hope to see.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank london_douglas36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

nice, clean, comfortable, bed was huge, sheets were clean, tram stop literally 2 steps away, would have been nice to see the owner once but was nowhere to be seen, great location near to everything and renbrant sq just round the corner...........overall a very pleasant stay in amsterdam .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icedbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

It's easy to miss this B&B (or should I say "B") as it is not really signed at all! There is only a Large wooden door as you walk down the street! This started me off with the giggles, then the never ending staircase made me completely hysterical! It seemed to wind up and up never stop! Dont pack heavy bags, or you'll never make it! Sasha was friendly, if a little mysterious. We only saw him for 10 minutes when we arrived. There is no breakfast but there is free tea and coffee. The room was lovely, one of the refurbished ones I think, with a large TV with free cable. The location is fab and we didn't use public transport the entire time we were there. The price is reasonable for the area too, much cheaper than the other hotels I looked at. This place is understated and basic, but perfect if you want a long weekend break with no travel issues. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tankgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#217 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B 1657
B&B 1657
#133 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam 4holiday
Amsterdam 4holiday
#99 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Mokum Suites
Mokum Suites
#69 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Guest Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Guest Rooms

Property: Central Guest Rooms
Address: Vijzelstraat 71, 1017 HG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Sasha Bed & Breakfast)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Sasha Bed And Breakfast
Sasha Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing