We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daalder

Daalder
Ranked #14 of 3,332 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: At Restaurant Daalder we rather cook high end food for people who simply love food, than serving high end food to people who simply can afford it... So our concept is simple: Michelin Star food for a more than reasonable price...We do not carry an extensive á la carte menu at Daalder, but we serve our guests a fantastic 4- to 7 course surprise menu. You simply choose how many courses you want to eat, lean back and leave the rest to our Chef. Usually the surprise menu exceeds the expectation of our guests, but if there are any special dietary needs, do let us know? We are happy to adjust the menu, anywhere possible. Team Daalder
Oslo
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best experience in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We love to find small authentic restaurants with great food. For us Daaler was the perfect experience!
The staff is laid back and friendly, the food is excellent and the atmosphere lively and warm.
You can choose between three, four, five or six courses and our only regret is that we only choose four..

Will definitely come back when we return to Amsterdam this fall!

The place is small and always full, so book ahead.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    169
    37
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do not miss Daalder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

If I lived in Amsterdam, I would be there once a week. The food and service are incredibly good. We went for our anniversary last week while we were visiting Europe and I am so glad I chose Daalder based on the reviews I read on TA. We did 8 courses with wine pairings and for the quality of food and wines they serve, it's a deal compared to restaurants in the states. Love, love, love this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rjvlovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a GEM of a Restaruant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A local chef recommended Daalder to me as a small establishment with a great chef. I decided to check it out, and went with my wife and daughter. There was no menu, just a selection of the number of courses from 3 to 7. We selected a three and a five course menu. The meal was SPECTACULAR! Honestly, I've eaten at hundreds of find dining establishments around the world, and this little place was a refreshing surprise. Each course was a culinary orgasm ... I wanted more of everything. It took two hours to complete but well worth it. If you can make it, I suggest you reserve your table in advance, as we did not, and were accommodated at the bar. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iceportal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We chanced upon this place and what a great find. Intrigued by the concept - a tasting menu where you choose the number of courses and have no idea what you will be served - we snapped up one of the last tables on a Monday night, and wow, were we impressed. Each course more delicious than the last, and the wine pairing excellent. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Perfect evening! Friendly service and the food was awesome!never tasted something like this, especially the dessert was great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zauberpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daalder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Daalder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing