We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky sensation ”
Review of Restaurant Daalder

Restaurant Daalder
Ranked #16 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $78
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: When you come into our home, you can expect fine, Michelin-quality cuisine in a down to earth environment. We serve a 4-o 7- course pre fixe menu, made with beautiful fresh ingredients, all hand picked in Paris by our head chef and co-owner, Dennis Huwaë. His exquisite dishes look like art, and with their many flavors and textures, his creations are a delight to the palate. Because we don’t like the atmosphere of reverence that this level of food usually comes with, we do things a little different at Daalder. We like to serve these fine dishes with a smile in a joyful, unpretentious atmosphere. And, because we strive to make delicious and beautiful food accessible, you’ll be still smiling when the bill is presented! Warm Regards, Team Daalder
Mill Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smoky sensation ”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Second time visiting Daalder and both times had great meals. Chef is a master at smoking whether its almonds or pork. Interesting way of deconstructing foods to deliver fresh flavors

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    203
    47
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
2 reviews
“'a very nice surprise'”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

One of my friends who cooks like a star recommended me to eat at Daalder. He called Daalder a restaurant where he, 'fell twice of his chair'. Not because of bad chairs but because of very good food. Yesterday we had a 3 courses arrangement for 36 euro's and it was very good. The taste is surprisingly original good and delicious. If you love food and like to be surprised it is a very nice surprise. Good wines also!! Thanks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roelantzwaanswijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
371 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Good Food but Slow Service”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We dined there on Christmas day. The place is small like most of the resturants in Amsterdam which don't serve many tables. Food was very good with a touch of oriental flavor and we enjoyed it. However the service was extremely slow. The waitstaff were very friendly though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Micahglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really cool!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you happen to be in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam and looking for a place to unpack and have a bite, this is the place! Typical Dutch atmosphere and great for people-watching! The menu allows for just enough choice without overwhelming you, and judging from the orders served around us, everything looked real tasty! Our choice of meal was typically Dutch - kroketten, simple but well prepared and equally tasty! Highly recommended and it seems very popular with the locals alike! Not too touristy at all, given the location.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine in a local neighbourhood near central Amsterdam”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This restaurant is simply great. I did not have a reservation, and the restaurant was booked out, but they staff offered me three choices to eat there, including the one I selected where the booking was not till later. The wait staff were friendly and attentive and interested in the food. The restaurant is small but cosy, with a kitchen on view style. But in the end its all about the food and this the best part. The herring appertiser was stellar with the fish accompanied by a range of beets in different styles but mostly as meringue-like wafers. The chicken was also good but I was most impressed by one of the chefs who saw I was not ordering a large meal and came by with an extra soup for me to try (complimentary too). So whats not to like? The wine choice was varied and interesting. The location is a couple of canals over from the main train station but a pleasant, safe walk. Having eaten at many restaurants over the years, I have to rank this one very near the top of my all time list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozzieozzieozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Daalder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Daalder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing