We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #29 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Get the Deluxe rooms. Small but have everythin u need. Rooms have an en-suite but with a twist. The Walls are frosted glass and Right beside the bed. So not for partners who are not comfortable with each other. Most rooms overlook a small version of a red light but hey if u don't wanna c that sort of thing don't go to Amsterdam. Location - perfect. Rooms are adequate and clean. All together would recommend

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,821
    1,191
    171
    45
    25
See reviews for
291
1,710
118
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
antwerp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We enjoyed our stay- new hotel, clean, spacious rooms, easy access to city center, and the design is interesting. Don't expect a charming boutique hotel, but for us it was really comfortable and functional.
The pool is also probably a plus, though we never really got around to seeing it- we came to see the city, not hang around in our swim suits..
If you arrive by car we recommend the parking lot of the World Fashion Center, it's dirt cheap and they even give free tickets to the tram!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antwerp2Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

The hotel, is new and modern, the decor is MODERN. The rooms are big by European standards and comfortable. The problem is that the staff doesn't know anything and don't bother to find out for you. Internet in the room was free, no free breakfast.

Take Tram 1 from the central train station to get there. You will need to walk 5-6 blocks to reach it from the stop.

I think I would look for a hotel more near the center of town. I'm not recommending this hotel only because of the pathetic staff, the hotel itself was good.

The business center is a computer on the far end of the check in counter.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitzerwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in November 2009. It had only just been opened. Gorgeous hotel, very clean, lovely bed and very nice bathroom including a nice deep bath and shower. Didn't eat in the hotel but food looked good. Service was great and the swimming pool was perfect! The location of the hotel is only about 10-15 mins on the tram to the square or 10 mins by taxi which wasnt a problem for us. We liked it so much we have rebooked for this year!
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xgirl87x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Beautiful hotel, great location ... disappointing service.

If you are looking for a clean, beautiful hotel ... WestCord Fashion hits the spot! However, the service offered for the expensive price tag is poor ... we waited 20 minutes for teabags, three days for batteries (for the TV remote control), and were told that milk could be provided for tea at cost of £7.50.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Okay, so it's a bit out of the way in a weird rubbly part of town. DOESN'T MATTER! For comparison, I will tell you about my and my fiancé's experience here and at another hotel in the middle of town. The middle of town hotel had the feel of a tourist dump catering to the hoi polloi whereas this hotel feels like a sleek getaway. Every detail is CUTE. :)

My fiancé and I are young, urban people in the music industry. Fashion Hotel treated us like special guests, they were kind from the get-go. The hotel in the center whose name I won't mention? I got the feeling they gave us a room off to the side just for the looks of us, asked us if they could see our room keys, and didn't file our special "extra person" fee and in dealing with it, we ended up missing our last opportunity to go to the zoo.

Fashion hotel is clean, cute, and SEXY! Well-designed, thoughtful, upscale but inviting. I loved it, and on our second Amsterdam vacation we often woefully thought of it. :)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissThaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

This is a new hotel that provides modern, upscale rooms for a good price. It puts on a good breakfast and has good conference facilities. The main issue is the location.

The hotel makes a good first impression. A proper four-star. The reception staff were efficient, helpful and flexible. The décor in the hotel is based on “fashion”, so I guess you could call it “upscale funky”. Lots of bold colours.

We loved the room. Fairly spacious, well lit, modern, new-looking, clean. Big comfortable bed. Interesting fabrics and design. Modern, luxury bathroom, with separate WC. Lots of closet space & counter space. Excellent coffee-making facilities, fridge, ironing board.

Our room did not have an interesting v iew, but then we were on a lower floor. Quiet, even though close to the motorway.

Free wifi. (A huge factor when choosing a hotel, I find.) The TV had a number of English channels, and channels in other languages. However, the TV had an unusual channel-display system that included an annoying slight delay when changing channels.

The breakfast spread was extensive, varied and classy, although not perhaps in the luxury range. Eggs scrambled or boiled. Various sticky buns. OK coffee. Very nice fruit and juices. It’s not cheap if you order it separately (€14 I think) so try to get it included. The cuisine produced by the kitchen here, as you might expect from a “fashion hotel” is quite good. I had lunch here twice, and it felt positively luxurious.

The conference facilities and services are excellent.

The fitness centre is more than a typical hotel gym, but less than a proper health club. It has a 15 m pool and a small facility with about 12 expensive-looking cardio and strength machines. These are free for hotel guests. I didn’t see dumbbells or barbells, but maybe they’re there -- they wouldn’t let me look. The sauna costs €10. When I was ready to go in to train, I was subjected to an off-putting inspection, lecture and serious attitude. Save yourself the trouble: Bring a clean towel and clean your shoes thoroughly before attempting entry -- and don’t look them in the eyes. They’re clearly looking for reasons not to let in the hotel guests. It’s not an extensive, welcoming facility. There is no other gym nearby, as far as I can see. Indeed, there is almost nothing at all nearby (except the highway). So if working out is important to you, find another hotel.

The first thing you notice about the WestCord Fashion Hotel is its location. It’s in a part of Amsterdam that no-one really goes to. It’s about 500 metres from something called “World Fashion Centre”, but that is hardly a site worth a special trip.

The parking was a whopping €25 a night, even though the hotel is located along the motorway in the middle of nowhere. If they are trying to get motorists to stay here, this seems like a strange way to do it.

The location is convenient only in the sense that it’s on the A10 northbound near the S106 (Cornelis Lelylaan). So getting here by car from the motorway is not that difficult. Still, the A10 is hardly an “open road”. The hotel is about 3 kms from the A4/A10 motorway interchange, one of the busiest in the entire country. Come here at rush hour (from Schiphol or anywhere else) and you are certain to be caught in a serious traffic jam. Nor is the hotel particularly close to Schiphol, despite what they tell you.

You might think, well, I’ll park my car at the hotel and take public transport into the centre of town. That is conceivable, because tram 1 and tram 17 do come out this far. However, you have to walk several hundred metres to get to these stops. Surprisingly for Amsterdam, no tram stops beside the hotel. If you plan to come back after a night on the town, you have to rely on Nightbus 353, which stops at Lelylaan Station. From there, it’s about a 500 m. walk to the hotel in what seems to be a relatively safe neighbourhood. I really urge the hotel to issue guests with a sheet of paper with simple and precise instructions on how to get to Amsterdam (and back) by public transport.

When we were there, the hotel was filled with Italian bus tourists. There were others, but it was mostly this at breakfast. Somehow this hotel suited this particular group perfectly.

This hotel is perfect for motorists who want to stay near Amsterdam, but don’t need to go to the centre of Amsterdam at all. The location didn’t work for me personally. While I would definitely recommend the hotel itself (5/5), I would not recommend its location (1/5). My “yes” is therefore a qualified one and my rating tries to balance these two factors.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#27 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#26 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing