We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"Fabulous darling!"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #29 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“"Fabulous darling!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Would-be fashionistas will love the theme adopted be the hotel and the little fashion displays in the lobby. During my stay it was mostly jewellery, the dismembered hands acting as hooks holding necklaces were a bit disconcerting, but this is fashion.

The staff were wonderfully helpful and polite. From check in to checkout the process was flawless.

I stayed in double room but saw a friends' suite; I would thoroughly recommend spending a little more taking a suite, it will be worth the extra something. But I booked late so I can't really complain. The one downside if that my room was at the end of the hall near the service lift, there was a definite although hardly noticeable hum of an air conditioning unit. In other words, avoid visiting your friends' rooms to avoid room envy.

As an aside, an interesting design choice is the use of transparent glass doors to the bathroom. I know this is Amsterdam but if you're staying as a couple and you're British first make sure your relationship is sound.

Thoroughly excellent hotel, the debate on whether a more central location is worth the extra money still remains unsettled.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Oleg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Oleg B,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. I’m very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. With regards to the glass in the bathroom I can inform you that we have bathrooms with frosted glass available. I look forward to welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,822
    1,191
    171
    45
    25
See reviews for
291
1,711
118
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at Fashion hotel, the first being December 2009 - I rated our stay highly back then and its just got better.

To be fair, there isnt much around the hotel, but there is Surinamplein tram stop a few minutes walk away which is only 10mins away from everything you want in Amsterdam.

There is also Lelylaan train station about 10mins walk away with a direct train to the airport which takes 10mins.

We thought the breakfast was a little pricy at €19 (or €17 if you book at reception in advance), but we ordered room service one evening - food and drink were great and good value.

The service at the hotel in general is brilliant and very friendly - we cant fault the hotel and twice now we have had an excellent stay and would happily recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

We will be back again, i'm sure! Thanks Fashion hotel (Nico and team)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereNext82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear WhereNext82,
"Perfect” what a great start for a review!
I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Your review reflects our desired guest experience!
Thank you for staying and recommending our hotel to others! I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in December to visit the Amsterdam Christmas markets. Very cheap and easy to get to from the airport (excellent instructions on which train and tram to catch). Equidistant between two tram stops (about five mins walk to each) and tram maybe 15mins into centre. Tram day pass only about 7 euros and two day about 12 euros. Very frequent all day and evening. Didn't use much of hotel facilities but clean, modern and smart so very nice place to stay. Lovely swimming pool for a quick dip. We didn't have breakfast as too much food to eat elsewhere so can't comment! Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Within five mins we were checked in, with map, directions to the centre, best tramstop advice and all set for two days of much exploring. Thank you

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KateLW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear KateLW_13,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
Your compliments about our staff are highly appreciated. Thank you for choosing our hotel and for recommending it to others. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and found the service exceptional from Reception and the bar/restaurant, although the Sky Bar had a bit of an aggressive bar tender who did not like guests standing in the centre of the bar and was not afraid to point this out rather forcefully! The room was great, comfortable and the other features of the hotel were good although the breakfast was only average - cold fried eggs were a little odd and the coffee was mild. I would on balance however return. Lastly, the lingerie models in Reception were a curious attraction!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Jonathan H,
It's great to read that you will return to the WestCord Fashion Hotel! That's the best recommendation we can get! Thank you for staying with us and for pointing out in which’s area’s we can improve. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again soon!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Very good experience overall - room was big and modern with separate bathroom and toilet.
Breakfast delicious! Staff was nice and helpful.

Some minor negative:
- Roomservice food disappointing
- After booking additional night we were called twice to remind us of check-out and once someone even came to our room to get us to check-out.
- Far from center but cheaper price easily covers for taxis

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Bianca C,
I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words. Your compliments about our rooms very welcome! Your comments about our internal communication and room service are very welcome and highly appreciated. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and I look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We just had 4 nights at this hotel, and can I say it was just great.
The staff are exceptionally friendly (Jeffery in the dining room gets a special mention), the restaurant food in the evening is superb. The Lobster Newburg, superb, and the Tornadoes melt in your mouth.
I've got a sweet tooth and the Orange Bavarois is to die for!
Really, it's a Michelin star restaurant without any stars or incredible prices.
Book the breakfast too, great start to the day that can negate the need for lunch.
5 minutes to the tram for a great ride into Amsterdam.
We had trouble with the free WiFi...........no probs, moved us to another room where reception was perfect,
The people at Reception just get it right, nothing too much trouble!

Regards, to all the staff.
Thank you WestCord Fashion Hotel

Room Tip: Get a 48 or 72 hour tram pass......just great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColandLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear ColandLynne,
Thank you very much for your kind and enthusiastic words in your review! It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay so much! Your compliment about Fashion’s Restaurant & Bar are highly appreciated! I will share your comments with my entire team, who I am sure will read them with pride! Especially Jeffrey will be very happy :). It has been a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Excellent hotel with a very friendly service. Rooms are huge and very clean, bathrooms too. We appreciate the Skyy lounge with panorama view. At the breakfast buffet we found everything and in high qualitiy.
What was impressive?
What could be improved? We had some differences between booking (our wish) and confirmation (where the reception desk made a mistake) - we clarified it before travelling and got an apology. Second thing which we didn't saw in other hotels or restaurants is that the service didn't collect plates, cups and cutlery directly after usage so everything runs out of stock during breakfast time.
B.S.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Bernd S,
I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words, and also for pointing out in which areas we could make improvements. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back in the future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#27 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#26 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing