We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely Splendid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #28 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely Splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I found the Fashion hotel and booked it on the reviews that it had received on TripAdvisor. I must say that it is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The service is excellent. The staff of of the best professional standard. The hotel is kept extremely clean, the decor is divine (sorry had to say that) in a word its exceptional. If there is one and only one downfall, that would be that it is not closer to the centre of the city. Even before arriving a member of the Reception Staff (Michaël van Es whom I cannot praise higly enough) went the extra mile to assist me in making this stay extra special which was a surprise birthday present for my fiance. He organised a spendid reception on behalf of the hotel and even recommended booked and reserved an evening entertainment. I have to say also that my fiance has a disabilty and Michaël even organised it so that our room was not too far from the lifts .. now how cool is that!!!). Also if you get the opportunity at least have one meal in the restaurant AND visit the Skyy Bar. I highly recommend this hotel.

[Ps on the downside was the spa area this was most unfortunately. When we arrived we were met by (I presume) the spa manager, who approached us saying (while wiping his face on a towel) that it was a hygenic area and we could not look around. He also repeated a couple of times that the spa was not part of the hotel and we had to speak to him if we wanted access (the is information in the room and other notices which explaines what is free access i.e. the pool and the gym and what has to be paid for) In fact he was so obnoxious that my partner who needed to use the pool as part of his rehabilitation exercises and another reason for booking the hotel, would not return! The man was AWFUL. Thank goodness they are "not part of the hotel". The spa area looked lovely, the facilities are amazing but the staff could do with a bit of training when it comes to courtesy. I too have worked in a boutique hotel spa and I would NEVER approach or speak to clients in that tone. So word of warning, if you want to use the spa dont expect a great reception, bring your own towel and look out for "Mr Nice Guy!]

Room Tip: This is a new build hotel and all the rooms are quite splendid. The walk-in show, bath, furnishing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustKeepMoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear JustKeepMoving,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! Your comments about the wellness will be shared with the owners and are of great importance to us!
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,812
    1,184
    171
    45
    25
See reviews for
289
1,702
117
369
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, , Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

the hotel was great all the staff were very helpfull the skybar was great the guys working up there were great we had a great time with them discussing cocktails they did and even ones they didnt great guys. the food was also very nice only got to breakfast twice in 4 days but thats because the bed was so hard to get out of.the gym and other spa were also great. the best way to get to the city is by tram short walk to the station taxis are also good costing about 15 euro so all in all brilliant stay we will stay here every time we visit amsterdam thankyou to everyone at the hotel you guys are great

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear John D,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your compliments to our Skyybar team which I already passed on to them. I am proud as a general manager to have such dedicated team members.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, and we are looking forward welcoming you again when your travels brings you back to the area.
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed there from the 07/10/11 to the 10/11/11 with my partner and the hotel was amazing very clean and tidy the front desk staff were lovely and made our stay very welcoming the bar staff especially Anthony was very helpful and welcoming and kept us entertained at the bar throughout the weekend. the hotel is 15 mins away from centrl station and 10 mins from dam square really close to schipol airport in a taxi 15 mins. Also tram 17 and 1 runs every 10 mins so no problem in travelling to town centre. very clean and sophisticated hotel very classy i loved it and will definately go back .

Room Tip: please read reviews before choosing a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Tessa F,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and and for your compliments to Anthony which I already passed on to him.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations!
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again in the WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We got off to a shaky start when the sole evening receptionist ( with 3 others lurking in the office behind) was somewhat officuous in checking four of us in and in our case allocation a room on the 6th floor right outside a cocktail bar. The room had obviously been rejected by someone else because the TV was stil on and it looked liked someone had at least sat on the bed.

When we requested a change, a second receptionist was somewhat put out by our request and curt in her response, so much so that I commented that there was a bad vibe and people didn't seem very happy. We were given the choice of another room with twin beds which was quite acceptable.

After that everything was excellent. We enjoyed a relaxing drink in the foyer bar with a beautifully friendly hostess and the rooms were excellent. The hotel decor is quite funky and everything nice and clean with a great bathroom and good TV selection. Wifi a little bit fluky late at night, but free of charge.

The reception staff in the morning very helpful with directions and info and recommended the 7euro metro pass which we used extensively.

On check-out we encountered our receptionist from our check-in and I am pleased to report it was like dealing with a new person. I guess we all have our bad days.

One observation I would make is that funky/fashionable hotels cannot use that "uniqueness" as a replacement for courteous service, I think this hotel is much better than that.

We were booked on a wotif rate, I hope we weren't given the dud room because of that!

Room Tip: Not on the 6th floor near the cocktail bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HobartResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear HobartResident,

Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor.
Your comments are of great importance and will help us in our efforts to continuously improve the standards you may expect from us. Your unpleasent encounter with one of our reception employees has been discussed. I'm deligted to read that our service developed positively during your stay!
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam.

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Rooms are great, had a very good stay, but if your coming here to party and do the usual Amsterdam tourist things it's a bit far.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanika79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Sharika79,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for the kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel has met your expectations!
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I was driving for business in Nederland and knowing how difficult and expensive was to find parking downtown in Amsterdam I booked this hotel which is located a little bit outside but still not far from th center using public transportation . Clean and confortable room and good staff made my staying very enyoable . The food at the restaurant was also good , only problem was too much time to wait to be served . I will come back again if price will not raise

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gulfetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear gulfetto,

Thank you very much for you kind and enthusiastic words in your review! It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay! I will share your comments with our team. The feedback with regards to service speed is highly appreciated and will be discussed too. It has been a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time!

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago. The short walk to the tram stations was not a problem.
However the Internet in the hotel was. Only one computer at a time seemed to be working and the staff at reception were not that keen to help. In the end, we were not even able to print off our flight boarding passes for our return journey. On the morning we were leaving, the fire alarm went off about 8am with an announcement in Dutch. Not very helpful for English speaking guests and very worrying at the time.
Nice hotel, but needs attention to detail

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Jedlova,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for sharing your feedback. It's good to read that your comments about the tram stop. With regards to the printing issue we can inform you that we had a network problem at the time of your request. We always assist our guests, unfortuantely we were not able in your case. Within two months our evacuation system will be available in more languages. Your comments are therefore highly appreciated and of great value! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
2.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
2.6 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#26 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
1.7 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#35 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 4,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing