We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #32 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Just back from staying at this lovely hotel. It's definitely a 4 star, very smart and looks almost new. Yes it is out of the centre but the trams - nos 1 and 17 are very frequent. The hotel is a 10 min walk from lelylaan station which is the first stop from schipol towards amsterdam centre. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Yes breakfast is extra , if u book it at hotel reception it is 15 euros each. Bed very comfortable. Got a good deal on the Internet. It is a big hotel and coupled with where it is I guess they give good deals to try and fill it . Would recommend mike's bike tours.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear LynnandJane,

I have just read your review here and wanted to thank you for your kind words! I am happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel so much! I will share your comments with our entire team, after all making sure our guests enjoy their stay with us is what matters most!
It was a delight having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back in the (near) future!

Kind regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,104
    1,358
    204
    50
    26
See reviews for
352
1,985
125
425
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Was the second time I visited the hotel. I was impressed the first time, however, was visiting in a calmer period that time and apparently the busy holiday season results in staff mistakes.

Upon arrival, I found a dirty toilet in my room. Toilet had not been properly flushed, there was still toilet paper floating around in it.
I also tried to order room service. The lady at room service told me that the food would be up in half an hour. Had to wait for an hour and a half, only to find they had forgotten me (had to call reception myself to figure that out) and the kitchen had been closed by then, so I couldn't get any food anymore.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John2550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear John 2550,

Thank you for your review and for letting us know that you were not as satisfied with your stay as you were the first time you stayed with us.
The points you make regarding the cleanliness of your room and the roomservice not providing the food you ordered are valid and are in contrast with the level of service you may expect from us. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will share your remarks in our management team and will take steps to make improvements.
We do hope you will give us a new chance during your next visit to Amsterdam so we can prove this was an incident, and I would appreciate hearing your remarks in person!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent - Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Located near the Amsterdam fashion center, and just next to the motorway.

pro
- comfortable beds
- spacious room
- swimming pool
- bar with outside terrace

contra
- no sparkling water in minibar, only mineral

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitchy_gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Fitchy-Gent,

thank you for sharing your review of our hotel here on Tripadvisor! I am happy to read you had a comfortable stay with us during your business trip, and I will pass on your comments about the lack of sparkling water in our minibar to our Food & Beverage manager!
Again thank you for your remarks, we are constantly trying to improve our hotel and the services we offer, and reading how our guests experience their stay is the best way for us to learn and improve!

We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip!

Kind regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We Visit WestCord fashion hotel in Amsterdam on 30Apr11.It happened to be the Queens birthday which is a national holiday. The hotel is very close to the Schiphole international airport .You will need to get a train to Leylaan Station, then tram No1 or No17 for just one stop .It will take you about 15min.The hotel is very modern, the rooms a quiet big, the bed is nice and big as well, staff is nice and helpful .It is little bit off the centre about 15min walk but Amsterdam is not that big town. The hotel is very close to the park. The swimming pool is reasonable size (you ca use it for free if you a guest of the hotel but for the sauna which is nice too you have to pay) and we enjoyed that too.
The only thing we did not like is the Sky bar. There was only one person serving all customers, the bar was full ,we wanted to try on some of the cocktails but when we had to stay for half an hour or may be 45min we was not able even to order anything and we left. Maybe all the people came at the same time but they definitely needed more staff at that time.
Amsterdam was really nice town. The day when we went all Dutch people going out on the streets dressed up in something orange, the canals a very busy as well ,it is very colourful ,the music is going on the all day and all night so if you prefer a quiet break you might want to pick a different day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunni_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn_Veken, Front Office Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Sunni_6,

thank you for your review on Tripadvisor! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam during Queen's Day and in our hotel! We take your comments about the service in the Skyybar very seriously, and I am happy to inform you that we have already taken steps to make sure enough staff is available to serve our delicious cocktails! Again thank you for your remarks, they help us improve the level of service and are therefore highly appreciated.

It has been a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Merijn Veken
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

It was a very nice hotel. The room was clean, nice decorated and in fine materials. The hotel had all the facilities you need such as Wi-Fi, swimming pool, work-out, sauna, massage.
The breakfast was good, not included in price though.

Hotel was situated about 4 km from City centre, but it was easy to go downtown by tram. At the hotel you could rent scooters - very nice.

The hotel staff was competent and friendly

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kringelbach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear Kringelbach1,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for the kind words.
I was delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations.
Thank you for choosing our hotel! I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Rooms were OK. Location is on city outskirts - tram trip to city centre is about 15 mins - and it's not a particularly atmospheric neighbourhood. The good aspect of the location is very easy access to motorways if you're driving, as we were. The hotel has a large underground garage too.

The pool was good but the men's changing rooms smelled appallingly lavatorial.

We didn't eat in the hotel but did have a drink in both bars. We found the service a little slow in both, particularly when we wanted to pay and leave. It was slightly odd that the Skybar was very busy, but the upstairs seating area was kept closed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear ThFerret,
Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor.
Your comments about the our service in the bar and the situation in the dressingroom are of great importance and will help us in our efforts to continuously improve the standards you may expect from us.
Therefore your remarks are very much appreciated.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcome you again to as our guest in the near future.

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Overall, a good stay. The hotel was clean, modern, good value for money and well run, with good food. One slightly disconcerting element was the design of the bathrooms. The door was of clear glass and there was also a window from the bedroom into the bathroom. All very well if you’re a married couple, but more awkward if you have a couple of teenage children of different genders sharing a room. One final reservation was that the top-floor nightclub felt a bit scuzzy, so we didn't go up there in the evening, but we'd readily recommend the rest of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_S_Hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Peter_S_Hunt,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your compliments. I will share your feedback with my entire team. We have bartrooms available with opaque glass which we will reserve for you the next time. It has been a pleasure to welcome you to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam. We are looking forward welcoming you again as our guest in the near future!
Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
1.9 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#39 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
2.9 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing